The 2022 London Evening Standard Theatre Awards – Shortlist announced

Best design
Bunny Christie, Guys and Dolls (Bridge Theatre)
Robert Jones, Dancing at Lughnasa (National Theatre)
Georgia Lowe, The Good Person of Szechwan (Lyric Hammersmith)
Tom Pye, My Neighbour Totoro (Royal Shakespeare Company/Barbican Theatre)

Most promising playwright
Matilda Feyiṣayọ Ibini, Sleepova (Bush Theatre)
Kimber Lee, Untitled Fck Mss S**gon Play (Young Vic Theatre)
Anoushka Lucas, Elephant (Bush Theatre)
Isley Lynn, The Swell (Orange Tree Theatre)

Emerging talent
Andrew Richardson, Guys and Dolls (Bridge Theatre)
Taylor Russell, The Effect (National Theatre)
Tatenda Shamiso, NO ID (Royal Court)
Jack Wolfe, Next to Normal (Donmar Warehouse)

Best director
Rebecca Frecknall, A Streetcar Named Desire (Almeida Theatre)
Rupert Goold, Dear England (National Theatre)
Nicholas Hytner, Guys and Dolls (Bridge Theatre)
Jamie Lloyd, Sunset Boulevard (Savoy Theatre)

Best musical
Guys and Dolls (Bridge Theatre)
Standing at the Sky’s Edge (National Theatre)
A Strange Loop (Barbican Theatre)
Tammy Faye (Almeida Theatre)

Best musical performance
Kyle Ramar Freeman, A Strange Loop (Barbican Theatre)
Nicole Scherzinger, Sunset Boulevard (Savoy Theatre)
Charlie Stemp, Crazy for You (Gillian Lynne Theatre)
Marisha Wallace, Guys and Dolls (Bridge Theatre)

Best actor
Paapa Essiedu, The Effect (National Theatre)
Mark Gatiss, The Motive and the Cue (National Theatre)
Paul Mescal, A Streetcar Named Desire (Almeida Theatre)
Andrew Scott, Vanya (Duke of York’s Theatre)

Best actress
Patsy Ferran, A Streetcar Named Desire (Almeida Theatre)
Sophie Okonedo, Medea (@sohoplace)
Rachael Stirling, Private Lives (Donmar Warehouse)
Anjana Vasan, A Streetcar Named Desire (Almeida Theatre)

Best play
Dear England, James Graham (National Theatre)
A Mirror, Sam Holcroft (Almeida Theatre)
The Motive and the Cue, Jack Thorne (National Theatre)
Retrograde, Ryan Calais Cameron (Kiln Theatre)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *