News: Women’s Prize for Playwriting shortlist announced

The inaugural Women’s Prize for Playwriting has announced the 35 shortlisted scripts that will compete for its £12,000 prize. The prize is run by Ellie Keel Productions and Paines Plough, with production company 45North in association with Sonia Friedman Productions.

It was launched last year, to celebrate UK and Ireland-based writers who identify as female. The winning playwright will receive £12,000 in respect of an exclusive option for the lead producers – EKP and Paines Plough – to coproduce their play and the work will also be published by Samuel French.

From the 1,169 entries received, the shortlist is:

A Rat, A Rat by Chloe Yates
…Blackbird Hour by Babirye Bukilwa
Colostrum by Olivia Hennessy
Contact Centre by Victoria Barclay
Core by Jennifer Lunn
Deepa the Saint by Sonali Bhattacharyya
Everything Must Go by Caitlin McEwan
Ezra by Stella Green
Fly Home Butterfly by Tife Kusoro
Full English by Silva Semerciyan
Giddyup’s Way by Ciara Cassoni
Happy Sad Virginia! by Deborah Acheampong
How the Dodo Died and Other Stories by Jenny Knotts
Leaving Eden by Sophia Chetin-Leuner
Kelp by Gaia Sorcha Fenn
My Brother’s Keeper by Kim Taylor
Paradise Street by Chino Odimba
Reasons You Should(n’t) Love Me by Amy Trigg
Red Sky at Night by Eve Leigh
Savage by Jane Bodie
Smethwick by Yolanda Mercy
Static by Saskia Livingstone
Super Blood Wolf Man by Alice Allemano
The Credibility Assessment by Amanda Wilkin
The Estate by Shaan Sahota
The Good People by Camilla Whitehill
The Sublet Next to Heaven by Madeleine Accalia
The Swell by Isley Lynn
The Virgins by Miriam Battye
This Might Not Be It by Sophia Chetin-Leuner
We’ll Be Who We Are by Naomi Obeng
What You Do With the Dead Is You Bury Them by Selma Dimitrijevic
When the Sea Swallows Us Whole by Natasha Collie
White Tuesday by Eve Leigh
You Bury Me by Ahlam

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *