75th British Academy Film Awards winners

Best Film
Don’t Look Up
Licorice Pizza
WINNER – The Power of the Dog

Best Director
Aleem Khan – After Love
Ryusuke Hamaguchi – Drive My Car
Audrey Diwan – Happening
Paul Thomas Anderson – Licorice Pizza
WINNER Jane Campion – The Power of the Dog
Julia Ducournau – Titane

Best Actor in a Leading Role
Adeel Akhtar – Ali & Ava as Ali
Mahershala Ali – Swan Song as Cameron Turner
Benedict Cumberbatch – The Power of the Dog as Phil Burbank
Leonardo DiCaprio – Don’t Look Up as Dr. Randall Mindy
Stephen Graham – Boiling Point as Andy Jones
WINNER Will Smith – King Richard as Richard Williams

Best Actress in a Leading Role
Lady Gaga – House of Gucci as Patrizia Reggiani
Alana Haim – Licorice Pizza as Alana Kane
Emilia Jones – CODA as Ruby Rossi
Renate Reinsve – The Worst Person in the World as Julie
WINNER Joanna Scanlan – After Love as Mary Hussain
Tessa Thompson – Passing as Irene Redfield

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Mike Faist – West Side Story as Riff
Ciarán Hinds – Belfast as Pop
WINNER Troy Kotsur – CODA as Frank Rossi
Woody Norman – C’mon C’mon as Jesse
Jesse Plemons – The Power of the Dog as George Burbank
Kodi Smit-McPhee – The Power of the Dog as Peter Gordon

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Caitríona Balfe – Belfast as Ma
Jessie Buckley – The Lost Daughter as young Leda Caruso
WINNER Ariana DeBose – West Side Story as Anita
Ann Dowd – Mass as Linda
Aunjanue Ellis – King Richard as Oracene Price
Ruth Negga – Passing as Clare Bellew

Best Adapted Screenplay
WINNER – CODA – Sian Heder
Drive My Car – Ryusuke Hamaguchi and Takamasa Oe
Dune – Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve, and Eric Roth
The Lost Daughter – Maggie Gyllenhaal
The Power of the Dog – Jane Campion

Best Original Screenplay
Being the Ricardos – Aaron Sorkin
Belfast – Kenneth Branagh
Don’t Look Up – Adam McKay
King Richard – Zach Baylin
WINNER – Licorice Pizza – Paul Thomas Anderson

Best Animated Film
WINNER – Encanto – Jared Bush and Byron Howard
Flee – Jonas Poher Rasmussen
Luca – Enrico Casarosa
The Mitchells vs. the Machines – Mike Rianda

Best Documentary
Becoming Cousteau – Liz Garbus and Dan Cogan
Cow – Andrea Arnold and Kat Mansoor
Flee – Jonas Poher Rasmussen and Monica Hellström
The Rescue – Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi, Jimmy Chin, John Battsek and P. J. van Sandwijk
WINNER – Summer of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised) – Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson, David Dinerstein, Robert Fyvolent and Joseph Patel

Best Film Not in the English Language
WINNER – Drive My Car – Ryûsuke Hamaguchi and Teruhisa Yamamoto
The Hand of God – Paolo Sorrentino and Lorenzo Mieli
Parallel Mothers – Pedro Almodóvar and Agustín Almodóvar
Petite Maman – Céline Sciamma and Bénédicte Couvreur
The Worst Person in the World – Joachim Trier and Thomas Robsahm

Best Casting
Boiling Point – Carolyn McLeod
Dune – Francine Maisler
The Hand of God – Massimo Appolloni and Annamaria Sambucco
King Richard – Rich Delia and Avy Kaufman
WINNER – West Side Story – Cindy Tolan

Best Cinematography
WINNER – Dune – Greig Fraser
Nightmare Alley – Dan Laustsen
No Time To Die – Linus Sandgren
The Power of the Dog – Ari Wegner
The Tragedy of Macbeth – Bruno Delbonnel

Best Costume Design
WINNER – Cruella – Jenny Beavan
Cyrano – Massimo Cantini Parrini
Dune – Robert Morgan and Jacqueline West
The French Dispatch – Milena Canonero
Nightmare Alley – Luis Sequeira

Best Editing
Belfast – Úna Ní Dhonghaíle
Dune – Joe Walker
Licorice Pizza – Andy Jurgensen
WINNER – No Time To Die – Tom Cross and Elliot Graham
Summer of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised) – Joshua L. Pearson

Best Makeup and Hair
Cruella – Nadia Stacey and Naomi Donne
Cyrano – Alessandro Bertolazzi and Siân Miller
Dune – Love Larson and Donald Mowat
WINNER – The Eyes of Tammy Faye – Linda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram and Justin Raleigh
House of Gucci – Frederic Aspiras, Jana Carboni, Giuliano Mariano and Sarah Nicole Tanno

Best Original Music
Being the Ricardos – Daniel Pemberton
Don’t Look Up – Nicholas Britell
WINNER – Dune – Hans Zimmer
The French Dispatch – Alexandre Desplat
The Power of the Dog – Jonny Greenwood

Best Production Design
Cyrano – Sarah Greenwood and Katie Spencer
WINNER – Dune – Patrice Vermette and Zsuzsanna Sipos
The French Dispatch – Adam Stockhausen and Rena DeAngelo
Nightmare Alley – Tamara Deverell and Shane Vieau
West Side Story – Adam Stockhausen and Rena DeAngelo

Best Sound
WINNER – Dune – Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Doug Hemphill, Theo Green and Ron Bartlett
Last Night in Soho – Colin Nicolson, Julian Slater, Tim Cavagin and Dan Morgan
No Time to Die – James Harrison, Simon Hayes, Paul Massey, Oliver Tarney and Mark Taylor
A Quiet Place Part II – Erik Aadahl, Michael Barosky, Brandon Proctor and Ethan Van der Ryn
West Side Story – Brian Chumney, Tod Maitland, Andy Nelson and Gary Rydstrom

Best Special Visual Effects
WINNER – Dune – Brian Connor, Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles and Gerd Nefzer
Free Guy – Swen Gillberg, Brian Grill, Nikos Kalaitzidis and Daniel Sudick
Ghostbusters: Afterlife – Aharon Bourland, Sheena Duggal, Pier Lefebvre and Alessandro Ongaro
The Matrix Resurrections – Tom Debenham, Huw J Evans, Dan Glass and J. D. Schwalm
No Time to Die – Mark Bokowski, Chris Corbould, Joel Green and Charlie Noble

Outstanding British Film
After Love – Aleem Khan and Matthieu de Braconier
Ali & Ava – Clio Barnard and Tracy O’Riordan
WINNER – Belfast – Kenneth Branagh, Laura Berwick, Becca Kovacik and Tamar Thomas
Boiling Point – Philip Barantini, Bart Ruspoli, Hester Ruoff and James Cummings
Cyrano – Joe Wright, Tim Bevan, Eric Fellner, Guy Heeley and Erica Schmidt
Everybody’s Talking About Jamie – Jonathan Butterell, Peter Carlton, Mark Herbert and Tom MacRae
House of Gucci – Ridley Scott, Mark Huffam, Giannina Facio Scott, Kevin J. Walsh, Roberto Bentivegna and Becky Johnston
Last Night in Soho – Edgar Wright, Tim Bevan, Eric Fellner, Nira Park and Krysty Wilson-Cairns
No Time To Die – Cary Joji Fukunaga, Barbara Broccoli, Michael G. Wilson, Neal Purvis, Robert Wade and Phoebe Waller-Bridge
Passing – Rebecca Hall, Margot Hand, Nina Yang Bongiovi and Forest Whitaker

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer
After Love – Aleem Khan (Writer/Director)
Boiling Point – James Cummings (Writer) and Hester Ruoff (Producer) [also written by Philip Barantini and produced by Bart Ruspoli]
WINNER – The Harder They Fall – Jeymes Samuel (Writer/Director) [also written by Boaz Yakin]
Keyboard Fantasies – Posy Dixon (Writer/Director) and Liv Proctor (Producer)
Passing – Rebecca Hall (Writer/Director)

Best Short Animation
Affairs of the Art – Joanna Quinn, Les Mills
WINNER – Do Not Feed the Pigeons – Jordi Morera
Night of the Living Dread – Ida Melum, Danielle Goff, Laura Jayne Tunbridge, Hannah Kelso

Best Short Film
WINNER – The Black Cop – Cherish Oleka
Femme – Sam H. Freeman, Ng Choon Ping, Sam Ritzenberg, Hayley Williams
The Palace – Jo Prichard
Stuffed – Theo Rhys, Joss Holden-Rea
Three Meetings of the Extraordinary Committee – Michael Woodward, Max Barron, Daniel Wheldon

EE Rising Star Award
Ariana DeBose
Harris Dickinson
WINNER – Lashana Lynch
Millicent Simmonds
Kodi Smit-McPhee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *