Winners of the 2020 Olivier Awards

Best Actor in a Supporting Role in a Musical                                          
David Bedella for & Juliet at Shaftesbury Theatre – WINNER
Stewart Clarke for Fiddler On The Roof at Playhouse Theatre
Jack Loxton for Dear Evan Hansen at Noël Coward Theatre
Rupert Young for Dear Evan Hansen at Noël Coward Theatre                          

Best Actress in a Supporting Role in a Musical
Lucy Anderson for Dear Evan Hansen at Noël Coward Theatre
Petula Clark for Mary Poppins at Prince Edward Theatre
Cassidy Janson for & Juliet at Shaftesbury Theatre – WINNER
Lauren Ward for Dear Evan Hansen at Noël Coward Theatre                

Best Original Score or New Orchestrations                                                         
& Juliet – New Orchestrations by Bill Sherman and Dominic Fallacaro at Shaftesbury Theatre
Amélie The Musical – Musical Supervisor and Arrangements by Barnaby Race at The Other Palace
Dear Evan Hansen – Music and Lyrics by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, Orchestration by Alex Lacamoire at Noël Coward Theatre – WINNER
Fiddler On The Roof – New Orchestrations by Jason Carr at Playhouse Theatre
Waitress – Music and Lyrics by Sara Bareilles at Adelphi Theatre                                

Best New Dance Production
La Fiesta by Israel Galván at Sadler’s Wells
Ingoma by Mthuthuzeli November for Ballet Black at Royal Opera House – Linbury Theatre – WINNER
MÁM by Michael Keegan-Dolan for Teaċ Daṁsa at Sadler’s Wells
Vessel by Damien Jalet & Kohei Nawa at Sadler’s Wells

Outstanding Achievement in Dance
Sara Baras for her choreography and performance in Ballet Flamenco – Sombras at Sadler’s Wells  – WINNER
Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker for her performance in Mitten Wir Im Leben Sind/Bach6Cellosuiten at Sadler’s Wells 
Gisèle Vienne for her choreography of Crowd, presented by Dance Umbrella at Sadler’s Wells

Noel Coward Award for Best Entertainment or Comedy Play
Emilia at Vaudeville Theatre – WINNER
Fleabag at Wyndham’s Theatre
Magic Goes Wrong at Vaudeville Theatre
The Upstart Crow at Gielgud Theatre                               

Best Theatre Choreographer 
Fabian Aloise for Evita at Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre
Matthew Bourne and Stephen Mear for Mary Poppins at Prince Edward Theatre – WINNER
Jerome Robbins and Matt Cole for Fiddler On The Roof at Playhouse Theatre
Jennifer Weber for & Juliet at Shaftesbury Theatre                                

Magic Radio Best Musical Revival
Evita at Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre
Fiddler On The Roof at Playhouse Theatre – WINNER
Joseph And The Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat at The London Palladium
Mary Poppins at Prince Edward Theatre                          

Best Actor in a Musical
Andy Nyman for Fiddler On The Roof at Playhouse Theatre
Charlie Stemp for Mary Poppins at Prince Edward Theatre
Sam Tutty for Dear Evan Hansen at Noël Coward Theatre – WINNER                                
Jac Yarrow for Joseph And The Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat at The London Palladium 

Best Actress in a Musical
Audrey Brisson for Amélie The Musical at The Other Palace
Judy Kuhn for Fiddler On The Roof at Playhouse Theatre
Miriam-Teak Lee for & Juliet at Shaftesbury Theatre – WINNER
Zizi Strallen for Mary Poppins at Prince Edward Theatre                       

Cunard Best Revival
Cyrano De Bergerac at Playhouse Theatre – WINNER
Death Of A Salesman at Young Vic and Piccadilly Theatre
Present Laughter at The Old Vic
Rosmersholm at Duke of York’s Theatre                          

Best Family Show
Mr Gum And The Dancing Bear – The Musical! at National Theatre – Dorfman
Oi Frog & Friends! at Lyric Theatre
To The Moon And Back at Barbican Theatre
The Worst Witch at Vaudeville Theatre – WINNER

Outstanding Achievement in an Affiliate Theatre
Baby Reindeer at Bush Theatre – WINNER
Blues In The Night at Kiln Theatre
Our Lady Of Kibeho at Theatre Royal Stratford East
Seven Methods Of Killing Kylie Jenner at Jerwood Theatre Upstairs at the Royal Court Theatre
Warheads at Park Theatre

White Light Award for Best Lighting Design
Neil Austin for Rosmersholm at Duke of York’s Theatre
Paule Constable for The Ocean At The End Of The Lane at National Theatre – Dorfman – WINNER
Howard Hudson for & Juliet at Shaftesbury Theatre
Bruno Poet for Uncle Vanya at Harold Pinter Theatre                             

Royal Albert Hall Award for Best Sound Design
Gregory Clarke for Rosmersholm at Duke of York’s Theatre
Emma Laxton for Emilia at Vaudeville Theatre – WINNER
Ben and Max Ringham for ANNA at National Theatre – Dorfman                       
Ben and Max Ringham for Cyrano De Bergerac at Playhouse Theatre

Best Costume Design                                 
Hugh Durrant for Goldilocks And The Three Bears at The London Palladium
Jonathan Lipman for Fiddler On The Roof at Playhouse Theatre         
Joanna Scotcher for Emilia at Vaudeville Theatre – WINNER
Paloma Young for & Juliet at Shaftesbury Theatre                                 

Blue-I Theatre Technology Award for Best Set Design
Bob Crowley for Mary Poppins at Prince Edward Theatre – WINNER
Soutra Gilmour for & Juliet at Shaftesbury Theatre
Rae Smith for Rosmersholm at Duke of York’s Theatre
Rae Smith for Uncle Vanya at Harold Pinter Theatre                               

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Arinzé Kene for Death Of A Salesman at Young Vic
Colin Morgan for All My Sons at The Old Vic
Adrian Scarborough for Leopoldstadt at Wyndham’s Theatre – WINNER
Reece Shearsmith for A Very Expensive Poison at The Old Vic            

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Michele Austin for Cyrano De Bergerac at Playhouse Theatre
Sophie Thompson for Present Laughter at The Old Vic
Indira Varma for Present Laughter at The Old Vic – WINNER
Josie Walker for The Ocean At The End Of The Lane at National Theatre – Dorfman     

Best New Opera Production
Berenice at Royal Opera House – Linbury Theatre
Billy Budd at Royal Opera House – WINNER
Hansel And Gretel at Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre
Noye’s Fludde at Theatre Royal Stratford East

Outstanding Achievement in Opera
Jette Parker Young Artists for their performances in Berenice, Death In Venice and Phaedra at Royal Opera House
The Children’s Ensemble for their performance in Noye’s Fludde at Theatre Royal Stratford East – WINNER
Martyn Brabbins and James Henshaw for their conducting of The Mask Of Orpheus for English National Opera at London Coliseum

Best Actor
Toby Jones for Uncle Vanya at Harold Pinter Theatre
James McAvoy for Cyrano De Bergerac at Playhouse Theatre
Wendell Pierce for Death Of A Salesman at Young Vic and Piccadilly Theatre
Andrew Scott for Present Laughter at The Old Vic – WINNER                        

Best Actress
Hayley Atwell for Rosmersholm at Duke of York’s Theatre
Sharon D Clarke for Death Of A Salesman at Young Vic and Piccadilly Theatre – WINNER
Juliet Stevenson for The Doctor at Almeida Theatre
Phoebe Waller-Bridge for Fleabag at Wyndham’s Theatre

Sir Peter Hall Award for Best Director
Marianne Elliott and Miranda Cromwell for Death Of A Salesman at Young Vic and Piccadilly Theatre – WINNER
Jamie Lloyd for Cyrano De Bergerac at Playhouse Theatre
Trevor Nunn for Fiddler On The Roof at Playhouse Theatre
Ian Rickson for Uncle Vanya at Harold Pinter Theatre 

American Airlines Best New Play
A Very Expensive Poison at The Old Vic
The Doctor at Almeida Theatre
Leopoldstadt at Wyndham’s Theatre – WINNER
The Ocean At The End Of The Lane at National Theatre – Dorfman

Mastercard Best New Musical    
& Juliet at Shaftesbury Theatre
Amélie The Musical at The Other Palace
Dear Evan Hansen at Noël Coward Theatre – WINNER
Waitress at Adelphi Theatre        

Special award    
Sir Ian McKellen – WINNER         
Don Black – WINNER            

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *