News: Further Casting Announced for First-Ever Tour of The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

Simon Friend Entertainment is delighted to confirm that Andy de la Tour (Plenty, Notting Hill), Marlene Sidaway (ITV’s Coronation Street, BBC 1’s Pride and Prejudice) and Rekha John Cheriyan (Kerbs, Tomb Raider, Dream Horse)will join the cast of The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel when it begins its first-ever tour in Richmond this September.

They join celebrated stars of stage and screen Hayley Mills (Pollyanna, The Parent Trap, Whistle Down the Wind) and Paul Nicholas (Jesus Christ Superstar, BBC 1’s Just Good Friends, Eastenders) and Rula Lenska (ITV’s Rock FolliesCoronation Street, Channel 4’s Celebrity Big Brother) in this feel-good tale of love and adventure which also reveals new artwork today.

The play is written by Deborah Moggach who now adapts her bestselling novel 2004’s These Foolish Things for the stage, it having previously inspired the BAFTA and Golden Globe-nominated film. The cherished story will be brought to life on stage when it opens at the Richmond Theatre on Monday 5th September 2022 and is directed by Lucy Bailey (Oleanna, UK Tour & West End); Gaslight, UK Tour; Witness for the Prosecution, London’s County Hall).

Andy de la Tour’s theatre credits include Medea and Celebration (Almeida Theatre); People and No Man’s Land (National Theatre); Blue Heart (Orange Tree Theatre); The Last Yankee (Print Room) and Lay Down Your Cross (Hampstead Theatre). Film includes Ann BoleynStar Wars: Rogue OneLe ConfessioniDoughOliver Twist44” Chest and Asylum. Television includes StrikeGood OmensVictoriaNighty NightWaking the DeadCasualty.

Rekha John-Cheriyan’s theatre credits include Kerbs (UK Tour); Soldier On (UK Tour) and Beyond Shame (Derby Theatre). Film includes Polite SocietyDream HorseTomb Raider and Little English. TV includes The Full Monty, The Undeclared War, and Hollyoaks.

Marlene Sidaway trained at the East 15 Acting School. Her theatre credits includes Tapestry (Milton Keynes); Pigeons (Hen & Chickens Theatre); Beneath the Blue Rinse (Park Theatre); Returning to Haifa (Finborough); Talking HeadsEnjoy and The Crucible(West Yorkshire Playhouse); Lady in the Van (Salisbury); The Daughter in Law and Macbeth (Sheffield Crucible Theatre); The Enchantment and A Prayer for Owen Meany (National Theatre); The Madness of Esme and Shaz (Royal Court); Dearly Beloved (Hampstead Theatre); Uncle Vanya (Print Room); Kenny Morgan (Arcola); Kiss me Like you Mean it (Soho Theatre); Joking Apart and Lady of Letters (Scarborough) and We’ll Always Have Paris(Sonning). Film Includes: Allelujah; Me and Orson Wells and Anna Karenina. TV IncludesMumHolby City; In the Long Run; Pride & Prejudice; Coronation StreetDoc MartinWallanderReady When You are Mr McGillHolby City and The Kiss of Death. 

Based on the Sunday Times bestseller which inspired one of this century’s most treasured films, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel takes us on a journey to India with an eclectic group of British retirees as they embark on a new life. The luxury residence is far from the opulence they were promised, but as their lives begin to intertwine and they embrace the vibrancy of modern-day India, they are charmed in unexpected and life-changing ways.

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel is a joyous, feel-good comedy about taking risks, finding love, and embracing second chances, even in the most surprising of places.

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel is produced by Simon Friend, Jenny King, Trafalgar Entertainment, and Gavin Kalin.

Get ready for the journey of a lifetime.

www.marigoldshow.com


The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel – 2022 Tour Dates

** Please note Hayley Mills, Paul Nicholas and Rula Lenska perform until Saturday 11th February. Further casting to be announced.

Mon 5th – Sat 10 Sept  Box Office: 03330 096 690
Richmond Theatre, Richmond www.atgtickets.com/venues/richmond-theatre

Tue 13 – Sat 17 Sept  Box Office: 0114 249 6000
Lyceum Theatre, Sheffield   www.sheffieldtheatres.co.uk

Tue 20 – Sat 24 Sept  Box Office: 0844 871 7650
Theatre Royal, Brighton   www.atgtickets.com/venues/theatre-royal-brighton

Tue 27 Sept – Sat 1 Oct  Box Office: 0844 8717647
Theatre Royal, Glasgow  www.atgtickets.com/venues/theatre-royal-glasgow

Tue 4 – Sat 8 Oct   Box Office: 08448 11 21 21 
Theatre Royal, Newcastle  www.theatreroyal.co.uk 

Tue 11 – Sat 5 Oct   Box Office: 01872 262 466
Hall for Cornwall, Truro  www.hallforcornwall.co.uk

Tue 18 – Sat 22 Oct  Box Office: 0343 310 0020
Churchill Theatre, Bromley  www.churchilltheatre.co.uk

Mon 24 – Sat 29 Oct  Box Office: 01603 630 000     
Theatre Royal, Norwich  www.norwichtheatre.org

Tue 1 Oct – Sat 5 Nov  Box Office: 0116 242 3595
Curve, Leicester   www.curveonline.co.uk

Tue 8 – Sat 12 Nov   Box Office: 0343 208 6000
The Lowry, Salford   www.thelowry.com

Tue 15 – Sat 19 Nov  Box Office: 0333 009 6690 
New Victoria Theatre, Woking www.atgtickets.com/venues/new-victoria-theatre

Tue 22 – Sat 26 Nov  Box Office: 01223 503 333
Cambridge Arts Theatre  www.cambridgeartstheatre.com

Mon 28 Nov – Sat 3 Dec   Box Office: 01225 448 844
Theatre Royal, Bath  www.theatreroyal.org.uk

2023 Tour Dates

Tue 17 – Sat 21 Jan   Box Office: 01227 787787
Marlowe Theatre, Canterbury  www.marlowetheatre.com

Tue 24 –  Sat 28 Jan   Box Office: 0333 009 6690
Milton Keynes Theatre  https://www.atgtickets.com/venues/milton-keynes-theatre/

**Tue 7 – Sat 11 Feb   Box Office: 0115 989 5555
Theatre Royal, Nottingham   www.trch.co.uk

Tue 21 – Sat 25 Feb    Box Office: 0333 009 6690
Alexandra Theatre, Birmingham www.atgtickets.com/shows/the-best-exotic-marigold-hotel/the-alexandra-theatre-birmingham/

Tue 28 – Sat 4 March  Box Office: 01242 572 573  
Everyman Theatre, Cheltenham https://www.everymantheatre.org.uk/shows/the-best-exotic-marigold-hotel/

Tue 7 – Sat 11 March   Box Office: 0343 310 0041
New Theatre, Cardiff   www.newtheatrecardiff.co.uk/Online/tickets-the-best-exotic-marigold-hotel-cardiff-2023

Tue 14 – Sat 18 March  Box Office: 01743 281 281
Theatre Severn, Shrewsbury  https://www.theatresevern.co.uk/shows/whatson/the-best-exotic-marigold-hotel/

Tue 28 March – Sat 1 April  Box Office: 01902 429 212
Grand Theatre, Wolverhampton https://www.grandtheatre.co.uk/whats-on/the-best-exotic-marigold-hotel/

Tue 4 – Sat 8 April   Box Office: 01224 641 122
His Majesty’s Theatre, Aberdeen https://www.aberdeenperformingarts.com/whats-on/the-best-exotic-marigold-hotel/

Tue 18 – Sat 22 April  Box Office: 01752 267 222
Theatre Royal, Plymouth  https://theatreroyal.com/whats-on/the-best-exotic-marigold-hotel/

Tue 25 – Sat 29 April  Box Office: 01483 44 00 00
Yvonne Arnaud Theatre, Guildford www.yvonne-arnaud.co.uk/whats-on/best-exotic-marigold-hotel

Tue 23 – Sat 27 May  Box Office: 02380 711811 
Mayflower Theatre, Southampton  https://www.mayflower.org.uk/whats-on/the-best-exotic-marigold-hotel-2023/

Tue 30 May – Sat 3 June  Box Office: 0131 529 6000
Festival Theatre, Edinburgh  https://www.capitaltheatres.com/whats-on/the-best-exotic-marigold-hotel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.