27th Critics’ Choice Awards – nominations

Best Picture
Don’t Look Up
King Richard
Licorice Pizza
Nightmare Alley
The Power of the Dog
tick, tick… BOOM!
West Side Story

Best Director
Paul Thomas Anderson – Licorice Pizza
Kenneth Branagh – Belfast
Jane Campion – The Power of the Dog
Guillermo del Toro – Nightmare Alley
Steven Spielberg – West Side Story
Denis Villeneuve – Dune

Best Actor
Nicolas Cage – Pig as Robin “Rob” Feld
Benedict Cumberbatch – The Power of the Dog as Phil Burbank
Peter Dinklage – Cyrano as Cyrano de Bergerac
Andrew Garfield – tick, tick… BOOM! as Jonathan Larson
Will Smith – King Richard as Richard Williams
Denzel Washington – The Tragedy of Macbeth as Lord Macbeth

Best Actress
Jessica Chastain – The Eyes of Tammy Faye as Tammy Faye Bakker
Olivia Colman – The Lost Daughter as Leda Caruso
Lady Gaga – House of Gucci as Patrizia Reggiani
Alana Haim – Licorice Pizza as Alana Kane
Nicole Kidman – Being the Ricardos as Lucille Ball
Kristen Stewart – Spencer as Diana, Princess of Wales (née Spencer)

Best Supporting Actor
Jamie Dornan – Belfast as Pa
Ciarán Hinds – Belfast as Pop
Troy Kotsur – CODA as Frank Rossi
Jared Leto – House of Gucci as Paolo Gucci
J. K. Simmons – Being the Ricardos as William Frawley
Kodi Smit-McPhee – The Power of the Dog as Peter Gordon

Best Supporting Actress
Caitriona Balfe – Belfast as Ma
Ariana DeBose – West Side Story as Anita
Ann Dowd – Mass as Linda
Kirsten Dunst – The Power of the Dog as Rose Gordon
Aunjanue Ellis – King Richard as Oracene “Brandy” Price
Rita Moreno – West Side Story as Valentina

Best Young Actor/Actress
Jude Hill – Belfast as Buddy
Cooper Hoffman – Licorice Pizza as Gary Valentine
Emilia Jones – CODA as Ruby Rossi
Woody Norman – C’mon C’mon as Jesse
Saniyya Sidney – King Richard as Venus Williams
Rachel Zegler – West Side Story as Maria

Best Acting Ensemble
Don’t Look Up
The Harder They Fall
Licorice Pizza
The Power of the Dog
West Side Story

Best Original Screenplay
Paul Thomas Anderson – Licorice Pizza
Zach Baylin – King Richard
Kenneth Branagh – Belfast
Adam McKay and David Sirota – Don’t Look Up
Aaron Sorkin – Being the Ricardos

Best Adapted Screenplay
Jane Campion – The Power of the Dog
Maggie Gyllenhaal – The Lost Daughter
Sian Heder – CODA
Tony Kushner – West Side Story
Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve and Eric Roth – Dune

Best Cinematography
Bruno Delbonnel – The Tragedy of Macbeth
Greig Fraser – Dune
Janusz Kamiński – West Side Story
Dan Laustsen – Nightmare Alley
Ari Wegner – The Power of the Dog
Haris Zambarloukos – Belfast

Best Editing
Sarah Broshar and Michael Kahn – West Side Story
Úna Ní Dhonghaíle – Belfast
Andy Jurgensen – Licorice Pizza
Peter Sciberras – The Power of the Dog
Joe Walker – Dune

Best Costume Design
Jenny Beavan – Cruella
Robert Morgan and Jacqueline West – Dune
Luis Sequeira – Nightmare Alley
Paul Tazewell – West Side Story
Janty Yates – House of Gucci

Best Production Design
Jim Clay and Claire Nia Richards – Belfast
Rena DeAngelo and Adam Stockhausen – The French Dispatch
Rena DeAngelo and Adam Stockhausen – West Side Story
Tamara Deverell and Shane Vieau – Nightmare Alley
Zsuzsanna Sipos and Patrice Vermette – Dune

Best Score
Nicholas Britell – Don’t Look Up
Jonny Greenwood – The Power of the Dog
Jonny Greenwood – Spencer
Nathan Johnson – Nightmare Alley
Hans Zimmer – Dune

Best Song
“Be Alive” – King Richard
“Dos Oruguitas” – Encanto
“Guns Go Bang” – The Harder They Fall
“Just Look Up” – Don’t Look Up
“No Time to Die” – No Time to Die

Best Hair and Makeup
The Eyes of Tammy Faye
House of Gucci
Nightmare Alley

Best Visual Effects
The Matrix Resurrections
Nightmare Alley
No Time to Die
Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings

Best Comedy
Barb and Star Go to Vista Del Mar
Don’t Look Up
Free Guy
The French Dispatch
Licorice Pizza

Best Animated Feature
The Mitchells vs. the Machines
Raya and the Last Dragon

Best Foreign Language Film
A Hero • Iran
Drive My Car • Japan
Flee • Denmark
The Hand of God • Italy
The Worst Person in the World • Norway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *