Winners of 2018 Lucille Lortel Awards

Outstanding Play
WINNER – Cost of Living  Produced by Manhattan Theatre Club in association with Williamstown Theatre Festival Written by Martyna Majok

Miles for Mary Produced by Playwrights Horizons. Written by Marc Bovino, Joe Curnutte, Michael Dalto, Lila Neugebauer, and Stephanie Wright Thompson
Pipeline Produced by Lincoln Center Theater. Written by Dominique Morisseau
WINNER – School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play Produced by MCC Theater. Written by Jocelyn Bioh
The Treasurer Produced by Playwrights Horizons. Written by Max Posner

Outstanding Musical
Bella: An American Tall Tale Produced by Playwrights Horizons. Book, Music, and Lyrics by Kirsten Childs
Desperate Measures  Produced by The York Theatre Company in association with Cecilia Lin and Hu Guo. Book and Lyrics by Peter Kellogg, Music by David Friedman
Hundred Days Produced by New York Theatre Workshop. By The Bengsons and Sarah Gancher
Jerry Springer – The Opera Produced by The New Group. Music and Lyrics by Richard Thomas. Book and Additional Lyrics by Stewart Lee and Richard Thomas
WINNER – KPOP  Produced by Ars Nova in association with Ma-Yi Theater Company and Woodshed Collective. Conceived by Woodshed Collective and Jason Kim. Book by Jason Kim, Music and Lyrics by Helen Park and Max Vernon, Immersive Design by Woodshed Collective

Outstanding Revival
Fucking A Produced by Signature Theatre. Written by Suzan-Lori Parks
In The Blood Produced by Signature Theatre. Written by Suzan-Lori Parks
WINNER – Jesus Hopped The ‘A’ Train Produced by Signature Theatre. Written by Stephen Adly Guirgis
The Government Inspector Produced by Red Bull Theater. Adapted by Jeffrey Hatcher from Revizor by Nikolai Gogol
Torch Song Produced by Second Stage Theater in association with Richie Jackson. Written by Harvey Fierstein

Outstanding Solo Show
WINNER – Harry Clarke Produced by Vineyard Theatre in association with Audible. Written by David Cale. Performed by Billy Crudup
Who’s Holiday!  Produced by Whoville Theatrical, Scott and Jenny Beck, Jason Shaw, Ken Fakler, Drew Desky/Dane Levens, Darren Bagert. Written by Matthew Lombardo. Performed by Lesli Margherita

Outstanding Director
Lileana Blain-Cruz, Pipeline
Michael Greif, The Low Road
WINNER – Anne Kauffman, Mary Jane
Lila Neugebauer, Miles for Mary
Leigh Silverman, Harry Clarke

Outstanding Choreographer 
Camille A. Brown, Bella: An American Tall Tale
Bill Castellino, Desperate Measures
Byron Easley, X: Or, Betty Shabazz v. The Nation
WINNER – Sonya Tayeh, The Lucky Ones
Jennifer Weber, KPOP

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Play
WINNER – Sean Carvajal, Jesus Hopped The ‘A’ Train
Peter Friedman, The Treasurer
Chukwudi Iwuji, The Low Road
Namir Smallwood, Pipeline
Michael Urie, Torch Song

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play
Quincy Tyler Bernstine, The Amateurs
MaameYaa Boafo, School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play
WINNER – Carrie Coon, Mary Jane
Cristin Milioti, After the Blast
Karen Pittman, Pipeline

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play 
Marc Bovino, Miles for Mary
Edi Gathegi, Jesus Hopped The ‘A’ Train
WINNER – Gregg Mozgala, Cost of Living
Paul Sparks, Edward Albee’s At Home at the Zoo: Homelife and The Zoo Story
John Tufts, Pride and Prejudice

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play 
Vanessa Aspillaga, Amy and the Orphans
Quincy Tyler Bernstine, As You Like It
Liza Colón-Zayas, Mary Jane
WINNER – Mirirai Sithole, School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play
Katy Sullivan, Cost of Living

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical
WINNER – Damon Daunno, The Lucky Ones
Steven Eng, Pacific Overtures
Terrence Mann, Jerry Springer – The Opera
Wade McCollum, Ernest Shackleton Loves Me
James Seol, KPOP

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical 
Abigail Bengson, Hundred Days
Ashley D. Kelley, Bella: An American Tall Tale
Julia Knitel, A Letter to Harvey Milk
Lauren Molina, Desperate Measures
WINNER – Ashley Park, KPOP

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical 
Sean Patrick Doyle, Jerry Springer – The Opera
Brandon Gill, Bella: An American Tall Tale
Paolo Montalban, Bella: An American Tall Tale
Thom Sesma, Pacific Overtures
WINNER – Jason Tam, KPOP

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical 
Vanessa Kai, KPOP
WINNER – Tiffany Mann, Jerry Springer – The Opera
Maryann Plunket, The Lucky Ones
Myra Lucretia Taylor, The Lucky Ones
Adina Verson, The Lucky Ones

Outstanding Scenic Design 
Gabriel Hainer Evansohn, KPOP
Anna Fleischle, Hangmen
Laura Jellinek, Mary Jane
Amy Rubin, Miles for Mary
WINNER – Louisa Thompson, In The Blood

Outstanding Costume Design 
Dede M. Ayite, Bella: An American Tall Tale
WINNER – Dede M. Ayite, School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play
Tricia Barsamian, KPOP
Tilly Grimes, The Government Inspector
Emily Rebholz, The Low Road

Outstanding Lighting Design
WINNER – Alan C. Edwards, Harry Clarke
Bradley King, The Treasurer
Ben Stanton, The Low Road
Japhy Weideman, Mary Jane
Jeanette Oi-Suk Yew, KPOP

Outstanding Sound Design
Mikhail Fiksel, The Treasurer
WINNER – Leah Gelpe, Mary Jane
Bray Poor, The Last Match
Bray Poor, Office Hour
Brandon Wolcott, After the Blast

Outstanding Projection Design
Lucy Mackinnon, After the Blast
Alexander V. Nichols, Ernest Shackleton Loves Me
Brad Peterson, The Stone Witch
WINNER – Hannah Wasileski, Pipeline
Jeanette Oi-Suk Yew, Relevance

Lifetime Achievement Award
Eve Ensler

Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee
Michael Friedman   

Outstanding Body of Work
WP Theater

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *