Winners of 2017-2018 Outer Critics Circle Awards

John Gassner Playwriting Award
Kate Benson, [PORTO]
WINNER – Jocelyn Bioh, School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play
Lindsey Ferrentino, Army and the Orphans
Meghan Kennedy, Napoli, Brooklyn
Dominique Morisseau, Pipeline

Outstanding Actor in a Musical
Harry Hadden-Paton, My Fair Lady
Joshua Henry, Carousel
David M. Lutken, Woody Sez
Conor Ryan, Desperate Measures
WINNER – Ethan Slater, SpongeBob SquarePants

Outstanding Actor in a Play
Sean Carvajal, Jesus Hopped the ‘A’ Train
WINNER – Andrew Garfield, Angels in America
Tom Hollander, Travesties
Gregg Mozgala, Cost of Living
Michael Urie, The Government Inspector

Outstanding Actress in a Musical
WINNER – Lauren Ambrose, My Fair Lady
Erika Henningsen, Mean Girls
Hailey Kilgore, Once On This Island
Taylor Louderman, Mean Girls
Patti Murin, Frozen

Outstanding Actress in a Play
MaameYaa Boafo, School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play
Jessica Hecht, Admissions
Lauren Ridloff, Children of a Lesser God
Katy Sullivan, Cost of Living
WINNER – Glenda Jackson, Three Tall Women

Outstanding Book Of A Musical
WINNER – Tina Fey, Mean Girls
Quiara Alegría Hudes, Miss You Like Hell
Kyle Jarrow, SpongeBob SquarePants
Peter Kellogg, Desperate Measures

Outstanding Choreographer
Camille A. Brown, Once on This Island
Christopher Gattelli, My Fair Lady
Christopher Gattelli, SpongeBob SquarePants
Steven Hoggett, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
WINNER – Justin Peck, Carousel

Outstanding Costume Design
Katrina Lindsay, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Clint Ramos, Once on This Island
Paloma Young, Time and the Conways
David Zinn, SpongeBob SquarePants
WINNER – Catherine Zuber, My Fair Lady

Outstanding Director of a Musical
Michael Arden, Once on This Island
Bill Castellino, Desperate Measures
Casey Nicholaw, Mean Girls
WINNER – Tina Landau, SpongeBob SquarePants
Bartlett Sher, My Fair Lady

Outstanding Director of a Play
Jo Bonney, Cost of Living
Marianne Elliott, Angels in America
Patrick Marber, Travesties
Joe Mantello, Three Tall Women
WINNER – John Tiffany, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical
WINNER – Norbert Leo Butz, My Fair Lady
Alexander Gemignani, Carousel
Gavin Lee, SpongeBob SquarePants
Nick Wyman, Desperate Measures
Tony Yazbeck, Prince of Broadway

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play
Anthony Boyle, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Johnny Flynn, Hangmen
WINNER – Nathan Lane, Angels in America
David Morse, The Iceman Cometh
Paul Sparks, At Home at the Zoo

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical
Kerry Butler, Mean Girls
WINNER – Lindsay Mendez, Carousel
Lauren Molina, Desperate Measures
Ashley Park, Mean Girls
Emily Skinner, Prince of Broadway

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play
Jamie Brewer, Amy and the Orphans
Denise Gough, Angels in America
Harriet Harris, The Low Road
WINNER – Laurie Metcalf, Three Tall Women
Mary Testa, The Government Inspector

Outstanding Lighting Design
Kevin Adams, SpongeBob SquarePants
WINNER – Neil Austin, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Paule Constable, Angels in America
Paul Russell, Farinelli and the King
Lap Chi Chu, Mlima’s Tale

Outstanding New Broadway Musical
Escape to Margaritaville
Mean Girls
Prince Of Broadway
WINNER – SpongeBob SquarePants

Outstanding New Broadway Play
The Children
Farinelli and the King
WINNER – Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical
Cruel Intentions
WINNER – Desperate Measures
Jerry Springer-The Opera
Miss You Like Hell
Woody Sez

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Play
WINNER – Admissions
Cost of Living
The Low Road
Mlima’s Tale

Outstanding New Score 
Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez, Frozen
WINNER – Jonathan Coulton, David Bowie and Brian Eno, Plain White T’s, T.I., Domani Harris, and Darwin Quinn, Brendon Urie of Panic! At the Disco, Alexander Ebert of Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, Cyndi Lauper and Rob Hyman, Yolanda Adams, The Flaming Lips, Sara Bareilles, Steven Tyler and Joe Perry of Aerosmith, Lady Antebellum, John Legend, They Might Be Giants, Andy Paley and Tom Kenny, Derek Drymon, Mark Harrison, Stephen Hillenburg, and Blaise Smith, and Tom Kitt, SpongeBob SquarePants
David Friedman and Peter Kellogg, Desperate Measures
Imogen Heap, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Irene Sankoff & David Hein, Miss You Like Hell

Outstanding Orchestrations
Jason Robert Brown, Prince of Broadway
Tom Kitt, SpongeBob SquarePants
AnnMarie Milazzo & Michael Starobin, Once on This Island
WINNER – Jonathan Tunick, Carousel
Claire Van Kampen, Farinelli and the King

Outstanding Projection Design
Tim Reid, 1984
Finn Ross, Frozen
Finn Ross, In the Body of the World
Finn Ross & Adam Young, Mean Girls
WINNER – Finn Ross & Ash Woodward, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Outstanding Revival of a Musical
WINNER – My Fair Lady
Once on This Island
Pacific Overtures

Outstanding Revival of a Play
WINNER – Angels in America
Jesus Hopped the ‘A’ Train
Lobby Hero
Three Tall Women

Outstanding Set Design
Miriam Buether, Three Tall Women
Myung Hee Cho, In the Body of the World
WINNER – Christine Jones, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Scott Pask, My Fair Lady
David Zinn, SpongeBob SquarePants

Outstanding Solo Performance
WINNER – Billy Crudup, Harry Clarke
Eve Ensler, In the Body of the World
Alison Fraser, Squeamish
John Lithgow, Stories By Heart
Sharon Washington, Feeding the Dragon

Outstanding Sound Design
WINNER – Gareth Fry, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Kate Marvin, [PORTO]
Fitz Patton, Napoli, Brooklyn
Marc Salzberg My Fair Lady
Darron L. West, Mlima’s Tale

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *