21st Critics’ Choice Awards nominees

Best Picture
The Big Short
Bridge of Spies
Mad Max: Fury Road
The Martian
The Revenant
Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Best Director
Todd Haynes – Carol
Alejandro G. Iñárritu – The Revenant
Tom McCarthy – Spotlight
George Miller – Mad Max: Fury Road
Ridley Scott – The Martian
Steven Spielberg – Bridge of Spies

Best Actor
Bryan Cranston – Trumbo as Dalton Trumbo
Matt Damon – The Martian as Mark Watney
Johnny Depp – Black Mass as James “Whitey” Bulger
Leonardo DiCaprio – The Revenant as Hugh Glass
Michael Fassbender – Steve Jobs as Steve Jobs
Eddie Redmayne – The Danish Girl as Lili Elbe / Einar Wegener

Best Actress
Cate Blanchett – Carol as Carol Aird
Brie Larson – Room as Joy “Ma” Newsome
Jennifer Lawrence – Joy as Joy Mangano
Charlotte Rampling – 45 Years as Kate Mercer
Saoirse Ronan – Brooklyn as Eilis Lacey
Charlize Theron – Mad Max: Fury Road as Imperator Furiosa

Best Supporting Actor
Paul Dano – Love & Mercy as Brian Wilson
Tom Hardy – The Revenant as John Fitzgerald
Mark Ruffalo – Spotlight as Michael Rezendes
Mark Rylance – Bridge of Spies as Rudolf Abel
Michael Shannon – 99 Homes as Rick Carver
Sylvester Stallone – Creed as Rocky Balboa

Best Supporting Actress
Jennifer Jason Leigh – The Hateful Eight as Daisy Domergue
Rooney Mara – Carol as Therese Belivet
Rachel McAdams – Spotlight as Sacha Pfeiffer
Helen Mirren – Trumbo as Hedda Hopper
Alicia Vikander – The Danish Girl as Gerda Wegener
Kate Winslet – Steve Jobs as Joanna Hoffman

Best Young Actor/Actress
Abraham Attah – Beasts of No Nation as Agu
RJ Cyler – Me and Earl and the Dying Girl as Earl
Shameik Moore – Dope as Malcolm Adekanbi
Milo Parker – Mr. Holmes as Roger Munro
Jacob Tremblay – Room as Jack Newsome

Best Acting Ensemble
The Big Short
The Hateful Eight
Straight Outta Compton


Best Original Screenplay
Matt Charman, Joel Coen, and Ethan Coen – Bridge of Spies
Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve, and Josh Cooley – Inside Out
Alex Garland – Ex Machina
Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer – Spotlight
Quentin Tarantino – The Hateful Eight

Best Adapted Screenplay
Emma Donoghue – Room
Drew Goddard – The Martian
Nick Hornby – Brooklyn
Adam McKay and Charles Randolph – The Big Short
Aaron Sorkin – Steve Jobs

Best Animated Feature
The Good Dinosaur
Inside Out
The Peanuts Movie

Shaun the Sheep Movie

Best Action Movie
Avengers: Age of Ultron
Furious 7

Jurassic World
Mad Max: Fury Road
Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation


Best Actor in an Action Movie
Daniel Craig – Spectre as James Bond
Tom Cruise – Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation as Ethan Hunt
Tom Hardy – Mad Max: Fury Road as Max Rockatansky
Chris Pratt – Jurassic World as Owen Grady
Paul Rudd – Ant-Man as Scott Lang / Ant-Man

Best Actress in an Action Movie
Emily Blunt – Sicario as Kate Macer
Rebecca Ferguson – Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation as Ilsa Faust
Bryce Dallas Howard – Jurassic World as Claire Dearing
Jennifer Lawrence – The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2 as Katniss Everdeen
Charlize Theron – Mad Max: Fury Road as Imperator Furiosa

Best Documentary Feature
Cartel Land
Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief
He Named Me Malala
The Look of Silence
Where to Invade Next

Best Comedy Movie
The Big Short
Inside Out
Ted 2

Best Actor in a Comedy Movie
Christian Bale – The Big Short as Michael Burry
Steve Carell – The Big Short as Mark Baum
Robert De Niro – The Intern as Ben Whittaker
Bill Hader – Trainwreck as Dr. Aaron Conners
Jason Statham – Spy as Rick Ford

Best Actress in a Comedy Movie
Tina Fey – Sisters as Kate Ellis
Jennifer Lawrence – Joy as Joy Mangano
Melissa McCarthy – Spy as Susan Cooper
Amy Schumer – Trainwreck as Amy Townsend
Lily Tomlin – Grandma as Elle Reid

Best Sci-Fi/Horror Movie
Ex Machina
It Follows
Jurassic World
Mad Max: Fury Road
The Martian

Best Foreign Language Film
The Assassin (Cìkè Niè Yinniáng) • China / Hong Kong / Taiwan
Goodnight Mommy (Ich seh, Ich seh) • Austria
Mustang • France / Germany / Turkey
The Second Mother (Que Horas Ela Volta?) • Brazil
Son of Saul (Saul fia) • Hungary

Best Art Direction
Judy Becker (Production Designer), Heather Loeffler (Set Decorator) – Carol
Colin Gibson (Production Designer), Lisa Thompson (Set Decorator) – Mad Max: Fury Road
Arthur Max (Production Designer), Celia Bobak (Set Decorator) – The Martian
François Séguin (Production Designer), Jenny Oman and Louise Tremblay (Set Decorators) – Brooklyn
Eve Stewart (Production Designer), Michael Standish (Set Decorator) – The Danish Girl
Adam Stockhausen (Production Designer), Rena DeAngelo (Set Decorator) – Bridge of Spies

Best Cinematography
Roger Deakins – Sicario
Edward Lachman – Carol
Emmanuel Lubezki – The Revenant
Robert Richardson – The Hateful Eight
John Seale – Mad Max: Fury Road
Dariusz Wolski – The Martian

Best Costume Design
Jenny Beavan – Mad Max: Fury Road
Paco Delgado – The Danish Girl
Odile Dicks-Mireaux – Brooklyn
Sandy Powell – Carol
Sandy Powell – Cinderella

Best Editing
Hank Corwin – The Big Short
Pietro Scalia – The Martian
Stephen Mirrione – The Revenant
Tom McArdle – Spotlight
Margaret Sixel – Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Hair and Makeup
Black Mass
The Danish Girl
The Hateful Eight
Mad Max: Fury Road
The Revenant

Best Visual Effects
Ex Machina
Jurassic World
The Martian
Mad Max: Fury Road
The Revenant

The Walk

Best Score
Carter Burwell – Carol
Jóhann Jóhannsson – Sicario
Ennio Morricone – The Hateful Eight
Ryuichi Sakamoto and Alva Noto – The Revenant
Howard Shore – Spotlight

Best Song
“Love Me like You Do” – Fifty Shades of Grey
“One Kind of Love” – Love & Mercy
“See You Again” – Furious 7
“Simple Song #3” – Youth
“Til It Happens to You” – The Hunting Ground
“Writing’s on the Wall” – Spectre

Critics’ Choice MVP Award
Amy Schumer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *