The 2010 London Evening Standard Theatre Awards

Best Play
Clybourne Park by Bruce Norris (Royal Court)
 by Mike Bartlett (Royal Court)
Sucker Punch by Roy Williams (Royal Court)

Best Director
Howard Davies for The White Guard (National’s Lyttelton) & All My Sons (Apollo)
Nicholas Hytner
 for The Habit of Art (National’s Lyttelton) & London Assurance (National’s Olivier) & Hamlet (National’s Olivier)
Laurie Sansom for Beyond the Horizon and Spring Storm (National’s Cottesloe)
Thea Sharrock for After the Dance (National’s Lyttelton)

Best Actor
Rory Kinnear, Measure for Measure (Almeida) & Hamlet (National’s Olivier)
Roger Allam
Henry IV Parts One and Two (Shakespeare’s Globe)
David SuchetAll My Sons (Apollo)

Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress
Nancy Carroll, After the Dance (National’s Lyttelton)
Elena Roger,
 Passion (Donmar Warehouse)
Sheridan SmithLegally Blonde (Savoy)
Sophie ThompsonClybourne Park (Royal Court)

Ned Sherrin Award for Best Musical
Passion, Donmar Warehouse
Legally Blonde
, Savoy Theatre
Les Misérables (2010), a Cameron Mackintosh production at Barbican Theatre

Best Design
Miriam Buether for Sucker Punch (Royal Court) & Earthquakes in London (National’s Cottesloe)
Bunny Christie
 for The White Guard (National’s Lyttelton)
Christopher Oram for Passion (Donmar Warehouse) & Red (Donmar Warehouse)

Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright
Anya Reiss for Spur of the Moment (Royal Court)
DC Moore
 for The Empire (Royal Court)
Nick Payne for If There Is I Haven’t Found It Yet (Bush) & Wanderlust (Royal Court)

Milton Shulman Award for Outstanding Newcomer
You Me Bum Bum Train created by Kate Bond and Morgan Lloyd (LEB Building, E2)
Melanie Chisholm
 for her performance in Blood Brothers (Phoenix Theatre)
Daniel Kaluuya for his performance in Sucker Punch (Royal Court)
Isabella Laughland for her performance in Wanderlust (Royal Court)
Shannon Tarbet for her performance in Spur of the Moment (Royal Court)

Editor’s Award
Daniel Kaluuya for his performance in Sucker Punch (Royal Court)

Lebedev Special Award
Sir Michael Gambon for his contribution to theatre

Moscow Art Theatre’s Golden Seagull
Sir Peter Hall

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *