Winners of 2009-2010 Outer Critics Circle Awards

John Gassner Playwriting Award
John Logan, Red
Jon Marans, The Temperamentals
WINNER – Geoffrey Nauffts, Next Fall
Bruce Norris, Clybourne Park

Outstanding Actor in a Musical
WINNER – Douglas Hodge, La Cage aux Folles
Brandon Victor Dixon, The Scottsboro Boys
Chad Kimball, Memphis
Nathan Lane, The Addams Family
Sean Hayes, Promises, Promises

Outstanding Actor in a Play
Bill Heck, The Orphans’ Home Cycle
Jude Law, Hamlet
Liev Schreiber, A View From the Bridge
Christopher Walken, A Behanding in Spokane
WINNER – Denzel Washington, Fences

Outstanding Actress in a Musical
Kate Baldwin, Finian’s Rainbow
Barbara Cook, Sondheim on Sondheim
WINNER – Montego Glover, Memphis
Bebe Neuwirth, The Addams Family
WINNER – Catherine Zeta-Jones, A Little Night Music

Outstanding Actress in a Play
Nina Arianda, Venus in Fur
Laura Benanti, In the Next Room, or the vibrator play
WINNER – Viola Davis, Fences
Laura Linney, Time Stands Still
Jan Maxwell, Lend Me A Tenor

Outstanding Choreography
Rob Ashford, Promises, Promises
WINNER – Bill T. Jones, Fela!
Susan Stroman, The Scottsboro Boys
Sergio Trujillo, Memphis

Outstanding Costume Design
Jane Greenwood, Present Laughter
Martin Pakledinaz, Lend Me a Tenor
WINNER – Matthew Wright, La Cage aux Folles
Catherine Zuber, The Royal Family

Outstanding Director of a Musical
Christopher Ashley, Memphis
WINNER – Terry Johnson, La Cage aux Folles
Susan Stroman, The Scottsboro Boys
Alex Timbers, Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson

Outstanding Director of a Play (The Lucille Lortel Award) Doug Hughes, The Royal Family
Kenny Leon, Fences
Stanley Tucci, Lend Me a Tenor
WINNERMichael Wilson, The Orphans’ Home Cycle

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical
Kevin Chamberlin, The Addams Family
Christopher Fitzgerald, Finian’s Rainbow
WINNER – Levi Kreis, Million Dollar Quartet
Dick Latessa, Promises, Promises
Bobby Steggert, Ragtime

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play
James DeMarse, The Orphans’ Home Cycle
WINNER – Jon Michael Hill, Superior Donuts
David Pittu, Equivocation
Noah Robbins, Brighton Beach Memoirs
Reg Rogers, The Royal Family

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical
Carolee Carmello, The Addams Family
WINNER – Katie Finneran, Promises, Promises
Angela Lansbury, A Little Night Music
Cass Morgan, Memphis
Terri White, Finian’s Rainbow

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play
Hallie Foote, The Orphans’ Home Cycle
Rosemary Harris, The Royal Family
Marin Ireland, A Lie of the Mind
WINNER – Jan Maxwell, Lend Me A Tenor
Alicia Silverstone, Time Stands Still

Outstanding Lighting Design
WINNER – Kevin Adams, American Idiot
Kevin Adams, The Scottsboro Boys
Ken Billington, Sondheim on Sondheim
Justin Townsend, Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson

Outstanding New Broadway Musical
American Idiot
Come Fly Away
WINNER – Memphis
Sondheim on Sondheim

Outstanding New Broadway Play
Next Fall
Superior Donuts

Time Stands Still

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical
WINNER – Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson
The Scottsboro Boys
Tin Pan Alley Rag

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Play
Clybourne Park
WINNER – The Orphans’ Home Cycle
The Pride

The Temperamentals

Outstanding New Score
WINNER – Memphis
Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson
The Scottsboro Boys

Outstanding Revival of a Musical
A Little Night Music
Finian’s Rainbow
WINNER – La Cage aux Folles
Promises, Promises

Outstanding Revival of a Play
A View From the Bridge
WINNER – Fences
Lend Me a Tenor

The Royal Family

Outstanding Set Design
John Lee Beatty, The Royal Family
Beowulf Boritt, Sondheim on Sondheim
WINNER – Phelim McDermott & Julian Crouch, The Addams Family
Donyale Werle, Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson

Outstanding Solo Performance
Jim Brochu, Zero Hour
Anna Deavere Smith, Let Me Down Easy
WINNER – Carrie Fisher, Wishful Drinking
Judith Ivey, The Lady With All the Answers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *