2009 British Independent Film Awards

Best British Independent Film
An Education
Fish Tank
In The Loop
Nowhere Boy

Best Director
WINNER Andrea Arnold – Fish Tank
Armando Iannucci – In The Loop
Duncan Jones – Moon
Jane Campion – Bright Star
Lone Scherfig – An Education

The Douglas Hickox Award
Given to a British director on their debut feature
WINNER Duncan Jones – Moon
Armando Iannucci – In The Loop
Peter Strickland – Katalin Varga
Sam Taylor Wood – Nowhere Boy
Samantha Morton – The Unloved

Best Actor
WINNER Tom Hardy – Bronson
Aaron Johnson – Nowhere Boy
Andy Serkis – Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll
Peter Capaldi – In The Loop
Sam Rockwell – Moon

Best Actress
WINNER Carey Mulligan – An Education
Abbie Cornish – Bright Star
Emily Blunt – The Young Victoria
Katie Jarvis – Fish Tank
Sophie Okonedo – Skin

Best Supporting Actor
WINNER John Henshaw – Looking for Eric
Alfred Molina – An Education
Jim Broadbent – The Damned United
Michael Fassbender – Fish Tank
Tom Hollander – In The Loop

Best Supporting Actress
WINNER Anne-Marie Duff – Nowhere Boy
Kerry Fox – Bright Star
Kierston Wareing – Fish Tank
Kristin Scott Thomas – Nowhere Boy
Rosamund Pike – An Education

Best Screenplay
WINNER – In The Loop – Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci, Tony Roche
An Education – Nick Hornby
Fish Tank – Andrea Arnold
Moon – Nathan Parker
Nowhere Boy – Matt Greenhalgh

Most Promising Newcomer
WINNER Katie Jarvis – Fish Tank
Christian McKay – Me and Orson Welles
Edward Hogg – White Lightnin’
George MacKay – The Boys Are Back
Hilda Péter – Katalin Varga

Best Achievement In Production
WINNER Bunny and the Bull
The Hide
The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus
Katalin Varga

Best Technical Achievement
WINNER Bright Star – Cinematography – Greig Fraser
Bunny and the Bull – Production Design – Gary Williamson
Fish Tank – Cinematography – Robbie Ryan
Moon – Original Score – Clint Mansell
Moon – Production Design – Tony Noble

Best British Documentary
WINNER Mugabe and the White African
The Age of Stupid
The End of The Line
Sons of Cuba
Sounds Like Teen Spirit

Best British Short
WINNER – Love You More
Christmas with Dad
Sidney Turtlebaum

Best Foreign Film
WINNER Let the Right One In
Il Divo
The Hurt Locker
Sin Nombre
The Wrestler

Raindance Award
WINNER Down Terrace
The Disappearance of Alice Creed
They Call It Acid

The Richard Harris Award
Daniel Day-Lewis

The Variety Award
Sir Michael Caine

The Special Jury Prize
Baz Bamigboye

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *