London Film Critics Circle Awards 2020 winners

Film of the Year
About Endlessness
I’m Thinking of Ending Things
Lovers Rock
The Mauritanian
Promising Young Woman
Saint Maud

Director of the Year
Steve McQueen – Small Axe
David Fincher – Mank
Rose Glass – Saint Maud
Kevin Macdonald – The Mauritanian
Chloé Zhao – Nomadland

Actor of the Year
Chadwick Boseman – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Riz Ahmed – Sound of Metal
Anthony Hopkins – The Father
Delroy Lindo – Da 5 Bloods
Tahar Rahim – The Mauritanian

Actress of the Year
Frances McDormand – Nomadland
Morfydd Clark – Saint Maud
Viola Davis – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Vanessa Kirby – Pieces of a Woman
Carey Mulligan – Promising Young Woman

Supporting Actor of the Year
Shaun Parkes – Mangrove
Sacha Baron Cohen – The Trial of the Chicago 7
Chadwick Boseman – Da 5 Bloods
Aldis Hodge – Clemency
Ben Mendelsohn – Babyteeth

Supporting Actress of the Year
Maria Bakalova – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
Ellen Burstyn – Pieces of a Woman
Essie Davis – Babyteeth
Jennifer Ehle – Saint Maud
Amanda Seyfried – Mank

Screenwriter of the Year
Chloe Zhao – Nomadland
Jack Fincher – Mank
Rose Glass – Saint Maud
Charlie Kaufman – I’m Thinking of Ending Things
Aaron Sorkin – The Trial of the Chicago 7

Foreign Language Film of the Year
Another Round
About Endlessness
Les Misérables

Documentary of the Year
Bloody Nose, Empty Pockets
Dick Johnson Is Dead
The Truffle Hunters

The Attenborough Award for British/Irish Film of the Year
Saint Maud
The Father
Lovers Rock

British/Irish Actor of the Year
Riz Ahmed – Mogul Mowgli and Sound of Metal
Sacha Baron Cohen – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm and The Trial of the Chicago 7
John Boyega – Red, White and Blue
Anthony Hopkins – The Father
Cosmo Jarvis – Calm with Horses and Nocturnal

British/Irish Actress of the Year
Morfydd Clark – Eternal Beauty and Saint Maud
Bukky Bakray – Rocks
Jessie Buckley – I’m Thinking of Ending Things and Misbehaviour
Vanessa Kirby – Pieces of a Woman and The World to Come
Carey Mulligan – The Dig and Promising Young Woman

Young British/Irish Performer of the Year
Bukky Bakray – Rocks
Kosar Ali – Rocks
Millie Bobby Brown – Enola Holmes
Conrad Khan – County Lines
Molly Windsor – Make Up

The Philip French Award for Breakthrough British/Irish Filmmaker of the Year
Rose Glass – Saint Maud
Henry Blake – County Lines
Fyzal Boulifa – Lynn + Lucy
Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman
Remi Weekes – His House

British/Irish Short Film of the Year
The Long Goodbye
Hungry Joe
The Shift

Technical Achievement Award
Lucy Pardee, Rocks, casting
Stéphane Fontaine – Ammonite, cinematography
Debora Lamia Denaver & Adruitha Lee – Birds of Prey, makeup & hair
Mica Levi – Lovers Rock, music
Donald Graham Burt – Mank, production design
Joshua James Richards – Nomadland, cinematography
Pete Docter – Soul, animation
Nicolas Becker – Sound of Metal, sound design
Jennifer Lame – Tenet, film editing
Tomm Moore & Ross Stewart – Wolfwalkers, animation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *