Winners of the 2016 Drama Desk Awards

Outstanding Play:
The Christians, Playwrights Horizons
The Humans, Roundabout Theatre Company
John, Signature Theatre
King Charles III
The Royale, Lincoln Center Theater

Outstanding Musical:
First Daughter Suite, Public Theater
Daddy Long Legs
School of Rock
Shuffle Along

Outstanding Revival of a Play:
Cloud Nine, Atlantic Theater Company
Death of a Salesman, New Yiddish Rep
Henry IV, Donmar Warehouse at St. Ann’s Warehouse
Long Day’s Journey Into Night, Roundabout Theatre Company
A View from the Bridge
Women Without Men, Mint Theater Company

Outstanding Revival of a Musical:
The Color Purple
The Golden Bride, National Yiddish Theatre Folkesbiene
Fiddler on the Roof
She Loves Me, Roundabout Theatre Company
Spring Awakening

Outstanding Actor in a Play:
Andrew Garman: The Christians, Playwrights Horizons
Avi Hoffman: Death of a Salesman
Frank Langella: The Father, Manhattan Theatre Club
Tim Pigott-Smith: King Charles III
Mark Strong: A View from the Bridge

Outstanding Actress in a Play:
Georgia Engel: John, Signature Theatre
Mamie Gummer: Ugly Lies the Bone, Roundabout Undeground
Marin Ireland: Ironbound, Rattlestick Playwrights Theater/Women’s Project Theater
Jessica Lange: Long Day’s Journey Into Night
Nicola Walker: A View from the Bridge

Outstanding Actor in a Musical:
Danny Burstein: Fiddler on the Roof
Robert Creighton: Cagney, York Theatre Company
Michael C. Hall: Lazarus, New York Theatre Workshop
Zachary Levi: She Loves Me
Benjamin Walker: American Psycho

Outstanding Actress in a Musical:
Laura Benanti: She Loves Me
Carmen Cusack: Bright Star
Cynthia Erivo: The Color Purple
Jessie Mueller: Waitress
Annette O’Toole: Southern Comfort, Public Theater

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play:
Bill Camp: The Crucible
David Furr: Noises Off, Roundabout Theatre Company
Matt McGrath: The Legend of Georgia McBride, MCC Theater
Richard Thomas: Incident at Vichy, Signature Theatre
Michael Shannon: Long’s Day Journey Into Night

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play:
Brooke Bloom: Cloud Nine
Megan Hilty: Noises Off
Kellie Overbey: Women Without Men
Saycon Sengbloh: Eclipsed, Public Theater
Jeanine Serralles: Gloria, Vineyard Theatre

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical:
Nicholas Barasch: She Loves Me
Christopher Fitzgerald: Waitress
Baylee Littrell: Disaster!
Paul Alexander Nolan: Bright Star
A.J. Shively: Bright Star

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical:
Danielle Brooks: The Color Purple
Alison Fraser: First Daughter Suite
Rachel Bay Jones: Dear Evan Hansen, Second Stage
Jane Krakowski: She Loves Me
Mary Testa: First Daughter Suite

Outstanding Director of a Play:
Rachel Chavkin: The Royale
Sam Gold: John
Rupert Goold: King Charles III
Joe Mantello: The Humans
Jenn Thompson: Women Without Men
Ivo van Hove: A View from the Bridge

Outstanding Director of a Musical:
Michael Arden: Spring Awakening
John Doyle: The Color Purple
Rupert Goold: American Psycho
Bartlett Sher: Fiddler on the Roof
Bryna Wasserman: Motl Didner, The Golden Bride

Outstanding Choreography:
Joshua Bergasse: Cagney
Spencer Liff: Spring Awakening
Lynne Page: American Psycho
Randy Skinner: Dames at Sea
Savion Glover: Shuffle Along

Outstanding Music:
Sara Bareilles: Waitress
Michael John LaChiusa: First Daughter Suite
Andrew Lloyd Webber: School of Rock
The Lobbyists: SeaWife, Naked Angels
Steve Martin and Edie Brickell: Bright Star

Outstanding Lyrics:
Sara Bareilles: Waitress
Benj Pasek and Justin Paul: Dear Evan Hansen
Glenn Slater: School of Rock
Michael John LaChiusa: First Daughter Suite

Outstanding Orchestrations:
August Eriksmoen: Bright Star
Larry Hochman: She Loves Me, Roundabout Theatre Company
Joseph Joubert/Catherine Jayes: The Color Purple
Andrew Lloyd Webber: School of Rock
Michael Starobin/Bruce Coughlin: First Daughter Suite

Outstanding Music in a Play
Billie Joe Armstrong: These Paper Bullets!, Atlantic Theatre Company
Estelle Bajou: Please Excuse My Dear Aunt Sally, One Year Lease Theater Company
Shaun Davey: Pericles, Theatre for a New Audience
Philip Glass: The Crucible
Tom Kitt: Cymbeline, Public Theater

Outstanding Set Design for a Play:
Riccardo Hernandez: Red Speedo, New York Theatre Workshop
Mimi Lien: John
G. W. Mercier: Head of Passes, Public Theater
Christopher Oram: Hughie
Derek McLane: Fully Committed

Outstanding Set Design for a Musical:
Es Devlin: American Psycho
Emily Orling/Matt Saunders/Eric Farber: Futurity, Soho Rep/Ars Nova
David Rockwell: She Loves Me

Outstanding Costume Design for a Play:
Jessica Ford: These Paper Bullets!
Martha Hally: Women Without Men
Constance Hoffman: Pericles
William Ivey Long: Shows for Days, Lincoln Center Theater
Anita Yavich: The Legend of Georgia McBride

Outstanding Costume Design for a Musical:
Jane Greenwood: Bright Star
Katrina Lindsay: American Psycho
Jeff Mahshie: She Loves Me
Alejo Vietti: Allegiance
Ann Roth: Shuffle Along

Outstanding Lighting Design for a Play:
Neil Austin: Hughie
Mark Barton: John
Bradley King: Empanada Loca, Labyrinth Theater Company
Tyler Micoleau: Antlia Pneumatica, Playwrights Horizons
Justin Townsend: The Humans

Outstanding Lighting Design for a Musical:
Jane Cox: The Color Purple
Jake DeGroot: SeaWife
Ben Stanton: Spring Awakening
Justin Townsend: American Psycho
Jules Fisher/Peggy Eisenhauer: Shuffle Along

Outstanding Projection Design:
Nicholas Hussong: These Paper Bullets!
Darrel Maloney: Tappin’ Thru Life
Peter Nigrini: Dear Evan Hansen
Finn Ross: American Psycho
Tal Yarden: Lazarus

Outstanding Sound Design in a Play:
Fitz Patton: An Act of God
Fitz Patton: The Humans
Mikhail Fiksel/Miles Polaski: Fulfillment, The Flea Theatre
Bray Poor: John
Ryan Rumery: Empanada Loca

Outstanding Sound Design in a Musical:
Mick Potter: School of Rock
Brian Ronan: Lazarus
Nevin Steinberg: Bright Star
Dan Moses Schreier: American Psycho
Scott Lehrer: Shuffle Along

Outstanding Wig and Hair:
David Brian Brown: She Loves Me
Jason Hayes: The Legend of Georgia McBride
Robert-Charles Vallance: Women Without Men
Charles G. LaPointe: The School for Scandal, Red Bull Theater
Mia M. Neal: Shuffle Along

Outstanding Solo Performnce:
Simon Callow: Tuesdays at Tesco’s, 59E59
Kathleen Chalfant: Rose, Nora’s Playhouse
James Lecesne: The Absolute Brightness of Leonard Pelkey
Daphne Rubin-Vega: Empanada Loca
Jesse Tyler Ferguson: Fully Committed

Unique Theatrical Experience:
ADA/AVA: Manual Cinema/3LD/The Tank
Antigona: Soledad Barrio/Noche Flamenca
That Physics Show
The Very Hungry Caterpillar Show

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *