News: Joe Iconis’ new album to feature 44 songs and over 70 collaborators

Ghostlight Records announced the new recording by musical theater virtuoso Joe Iconis, a sprawling new 44-track album, simply titled Album, due out on Friday, June 17. The album features over 70 members of Iconis’ vast family of collaborators including Aaron TveitAndrew RannellsLin-Manuel MirandaKrysta Rodriguez, Kerry Butler, Danny Burstein, Annie Golden, George Salazar, Will RolandAndrew Barth Feldman and many more.

The album was produced by Iconis, Ian Kagey, and Charlie Rosen, executive produced by Randi Zuckerberg, features music direction by Danielle Gimbal, and choir arrangements by Joel Waggoner. Iconis has also shared the project’s first single, “Album,” a time-hopping piano ballad about art and legacy. Listen to the single “Album” here and pre-save or pre-order Album here.

“‘Album’ is the last song I wrote for the project so it feels appropriate that it serves as both the opener for the album as well as its first single,” explains Iconis. “As often happens with my work, I set out to write something short and simple and it ended up turning into a 7-minute, century-spanning epic. Whoops. The song is just piano and voice until the very end. While the sparse arrangement is an outlier on a record that features horns and strings and choirs, the message of art bringing people together is very much a theme of Album, and one I’m so grateful that we get to share at this moment in time. Family is forever and I hope you’ll be a part of ours.”

Album hurtles through a cocktail of musical genres as its rogue’s gallery of misfit children, reckless adults, and various assorted creatures sing their stories of love, hope, murder, resilience, and connection. Sprawling in its scope and intimate in its subject matter, the songs are a showcase of Iconis’s singular ability to find moments of drama in the seemingly mundane. Gentle acoustic love ballads sit next to indie-rock stadium shout-alongs on an album that is both sweetly nostalgic and explosively contemporary. Featuring never-before-heard songs as well as Iconis classics recorded for the first time, this is a rowdy, erudite, epic record made for a world on fire.

Album Tracklist:
01) Album – Joe Iconis
02) The Answer – Aaron Tveit
03) Ammonia – Heidi Blickenstaff
04) Archie’s All-American – Andrew Barth Feldman
05) Lydia’s Song – Lauren Marcus
06) The Protector – Jason SweetTooth Williams
07) Kevin – Andrew Rannells
08) Jeff – Jeremy Morse
09) 64 – Alan H. Green, George Salazar, José Restrepo
10) Play the Princess – Destinee Rea, L Morgan Lee
11) The Actress – Katrina Rose Dideriksen
12) The Song – Joe Iconis
13) All the Mistakes That He Made About the Girl – Joe Iconis
14) Yesterdays / I Can’t Relate – Jason Tam, Jason Veasey
15) Building A Fort – Harrison Chad
16) Haddonfield, 15 Years Later (For Judith) – Jared Weiss
17) Sympathy for the Killer – Liz Lark Brown
18) Helen Sharp – Lorinda Lisitza 
19) The Nurse and the Addict – Taylor Trensch
20) Out of Sight / Out of Mind – Krysta Rodriguez
21) The Saddest Girl in the World – Kerry Butler
22) Norman – Lance Rubin
23) (Run Away from You) – Jason SweetTooth Williams
24) The Prisoner’s Christmas Song – Grace McLean
25) Right Place / Wrong Time – Eric William Morris, Katrina Rose
26) 52 – Danny Burstein
27) A Guy That I’d Kinda Be Into – Seth Eliser
28) Joey Is a Punk Rocker – Annie Golden
29) Social Worker – Nick Blaemire
30) I Was a Teenage Delinquent! – Lauren Marcus, Molly Hager
31) (Do) the Slide Whistle! – Jordan Stanley, Lance Rubin
32) Muthers R Speshel (Wen Yer Sad) – Lin-Manuel Miranda
33) My Best Friend’s a Skeleton – George Salazar, Jeremy Morse
34) Velociraptor – Liz Lark Brown
35) Him Today, Gone Tomorrow – Shakina Nayfack
36) Starting to Forget – Badia Farha
37) Tightrope Walker / Mountain Climber / Me – Molly Hager
38) Flesh and Bone (The Robot’s Song) – Jason SweetTooth Williams
39) Party Hat – Lauren Marcus, Eric William Morris
40) Amphibian – Will Roland
41) It’s All Good – Jason Tam, Nick Blaemire, Lance Rubin, Jason SweetTooth Williams
42) Find the Bastard – Eric William Morris
43) Last on Land – Jason SweetTooth Williams, Katrina Rose Dideriksen, MK Lawson, Eric William Morris, Jeremy Morse, Lance Rubin 
44) Try Again – Joe Iconis

Main photo credit: Marques Walls

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *