News: even more black MT talent turning it up for TURN UP!

Theatrical superstars Sharon D. Clarke, Noma Dumezweni, Clive Rowe, Kwame Kwei-Armah, Johnnie Fiore, Brenda Edwards, Zaris-Angel Hator, Rachel Adedeji, Aisha Jawando, Norm Lewis, Brittney Johnson, Brandi Chavonne Massey and Joe Aaron Reid and more join the lineup for TURN UP! , a live stream event supporting the Black Lives Matter movement.

The live stream event is streaming for The Bail Project, The Okra Project, The Black Curriculum and UK Black Pride – in support of the Black Lives Matter movement.

TURN UP! will stream on Friday 10th, Saturday 11th and Sunday 12th July at 7.30pm prompt.  The performance streamed on Sunday 12th July will be captioned. Tickets cost £10 for one stream/show, or you can watch all 3 nights for £25, all profit (after streaming costs and applicable taxes) will be split between our four charities, tickets are available now from

Under the creative direction of Nicole Raquel Dennis and Ryan Carter, TURN UP!   will also include readings, poetry and speeches from prominent figures in the Black community. Led by musical direction of Sean Green and two associates – Ben Burrell and Ian Oakley.

Turn Up!, creative director Nicole Raquel Dennis said: 

“TURN UP! is something that we’ve needed in London for a long time. Black voices need to be heard and celebrated now and forever. Hopefully this will be the start of many more celebrations to come.”

Fellow Turn Up! creative director Ryan Carter added:

We’ve seen a much-needed sense of change sweeping across our industry in recent weeks, and with that comes a wave of excitement that real change is coming. We’re taking ownership of how our voices are used, and most importantly, who they are used for. This is an event with Black people leading the creative direction and production of the show. The age of Black performers only being invited for their vocal riff or niche casting is over, and I for one couldn’t be more excited about it!”

Club 11 London said: “We are working to guidelines to create a safe way for performers, musicians and crew to attend Cadogan Hall and perform their chosen songs on stage with an empty auditorium. Cadogan Hall and Club 11 London are fully aware of our commitments to keep all cast and crew safe and socially distanced, and are proud to come together to support the Black Lives Matter movement and these four vitally important charities.”

The full line up includes: Rachel Adedeji, David Albury, Kelly Agbowu, Melanie La Barrie, Jeannette Bayardelle, Arun Blair-Mangat, Tarinn Callender, Ryan Carter, Sharon D Clarke, Marcus Collins, Chloë Davies, Nicole Raquel Dennis, Noma Dumezweni, Brenda Edwards, Johnnie Fiori, Vanessa Fisher, Danielle Fiamanya, Alexandra Grey, Adrian Hansel, Zaris-Angel Hator, Cooper Howell, Ashlee Irish, Aisha Jawando, Rachel John, Brittney Johnson, Rahne Jones, Cameron  Bernard Jones, Claudia Kariuki, Natalie Kassanga, Alexia Khadime, Kwame Kewi-Armah, Aaron Lee Lambert, Norm Lewis, Vula Malinga, Sandra Marvin, Brandi Chavonne Massey, Rhianne-Louise Mccaulsky, Cedric Neal, Billy Nevers, Trevor Dion Nicholas, Jay Perry, Joe Aaron Reid, Ciara Renée, Sharon Rose, Clive Rowe, Jordan Shaw, Tanisha Spring, Danielle Steers, Vinegar Strokes, Shaq Taylor, Obioma Ugoala, Cherelle Williams, Layton Williams, and Natasha Yvette Williams.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *