News: cast announced for Unprecedented: Theatre from a State of Isolation

Headlong and Century Films have today announced a cast of over 50 UK actors taking part in Unprecedented: Theatre from the State of Isolation. A series of new digital plays written in response to the current Covid-19 Pandemic, Unprecedented will be broadcast across the nation during lockdown as part of BBC Arts’ Culture in Quarantine initiative.

Written by celebrated playwrights and curated by Headlong, Century Films and BBC Arts, Unprecedented explores our rapidly evolving world, responding to how our understanding and experiences of community, education, work, relationships, family, culture, climate and capitalism are evolving on an unprecedented scale. The series will ask how we got here and what the enduring legacy of this historic episode might be.

Sadia Ahmed, Kae Alexander (Deep State; Fleabag), Esh Alladi (Ordinary Love; A Confession), Patricia Allison (Sex Education), Gemma Arterton (Summerland; Their Finest), Julian Barratt (The Mighty Boosh; Flowers) Paul Chahidi (This Country; The Death of Stalin), Ines De Clercq (Broadchurch), Risteárd Cooper (Quiz; Delicious), Arthur Darvill (Doctor Who; Broadchurch), Natalie Dew (Sandylands; Peter Rabbit), Erin Doherty (The Crown; Junkyard) Monica Dolan (Official Secrets; W1A), Michael Elwyn (StellaCoronation Street), Denise Gough (People, Places and Things; Angels in America), Frances Grey (Ordeal by Innocence; Home Fires), Kathryn Hunter (Timon of Athens; Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix), Saoirse-Monica Jackson (Derry Girls), Geraldine James (Back To Life; 45 Years), Lennie James (The Walking Dead; Save Me), Sue Johnston (The Royle Family; Downton Abbey),  Rory Keenan (Long Day’s Journey into Night; Versailles), Lisa Kerr (Top Girls), Rory Kinnear (Years and Years; Brexit: The Uncivil War), Laurie Kynaston (The Son; How to Build a Girl), Alex Lawther (The End of the F***ing World; Howards End), Archie Madekwe (See; Midsommar), Anna Madeley (Deadwater Fell; Patrick Melrose),  Marcello Magni (Fragments; Arlecchino), Lucianne McEvoy (Crocodile Fever; Ulster American), Jodie McNee (Faustus: That Damned Woman; Britannia), Cecilia Noble (Nine Night; Downstate), James Norton (Happy Valley; The Trial of Christine Keeler), Enyi Okoronkwo (Noises Off; Giri/Haji), Abraham Popoola (Party Time; Julius Caesar),  Boadicea Ricketts (Bartholomew Fair), Golda Rosheuvel (Lady MacbethA Pacifist’s Guide to the War on Cancer), Sid Sagar (White Teeth; The Starry Messenger), Rochenda Sandall (Line of Duty; Pomona),  Gyuri Sarossy (The Absence of War; The Two Noble Kinsmen), Kiruna Stamell (The New Pope; Cyrano de Bergerac), Rebekah Staton (Raised by Wolves; Home), Alison Steadman (Gavin & Stacey; Care), Rhashan Stone (Keeping Faith; All About Eve), Meera Syal (Noises Off; The Kumars at No. 42) Stuart Thompson (A Taste of Honey),  Amy Trigg (The Taming of the Shrew; Measure For Measure),  Dickon Tyrell (Labour of Love; Anatomy of a Suicide), Olivia Williams (TartuffeCounterpart), Gabby Wong (Rogue One; Troilus and Cressida) Fenella Woolgar (Handbagged; Call the Midwife) and Sargon Yelda (Strike; Antony and Cleopatra).

Directors working on the series include; Ned Bennett (Equus; An Octoroon; Yen), Deborah Bruce (Pride and Prejudice), Tinuke Craig (Vassa; The Color Purple), Debbie Hannan (The Panopticon; Pah-La), Jeremy Herrin (This House; People Places and Things), Brian Hill (Bella and The Boys; Falling Apart), Ola Ince (Poet in da Corner; Appropriate: The Convert), Nathaniel Martello-White (Cla’am), Caitlin Mcleod (Returning To Haifa), Blanche McIntyre (Tartuffe; The Writer) and Holly Race Roughan (Hedda Tesman; Broken Dreams).

The series will include new works from a diverse group of celebrated playwrights including; April De Angelis (My Brilliant Friend; The Village), Josh Azouz (The Mikvah Project; Buggy Baby), Deborah Bruce (The Distance; The House They Grew Up In), John Donnelly (The Pass; The Knowledge), James Graham (Ink; QUIZ; Coalition; Brexit: An Uncivil War; Labour of Love), Charlene James (Cuttin’ It; Tweet Tweet), Matilda Ibini (Where do we go next: Little Miss Burden), Jasmine Lee-Jones (seven methods of killing kylie jenner) Duncan Macmillan (People, Places and Things; City of Glass; Rosmersholm; 1984; Lungs), Anna Maloney (Consent), Nathaniel Martello-White (Torn; BLACKTA), Chloë Moss (This Wide Night; The Gatekeeper), Prasanna Puwanarajah (Nightwatchman; Patrick Melrose; Doctor Foster) and Tim Price (Salt, Root, Roe; The Radicalisation of Bradley Manning).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *