Winners of 2018-2019 Outer Critics Circle Awards

John Gassner Playwriting Award
Charly Evon Simpson, Behind the Sheet
WINNER – Jeremy Kareken, David Murrell and Gordon Farrell, The Lifespan of a Fact
Donja R. Love, Sugar in Our Wounds
Ming Peiffer, Usual Girls
Jeremy O. Harris, Slave Play

Outstanding Actor in a Musical
Brooks Ashmanskas, The Prom
Reeve Carney, Hadestown
Damon Daunno, Oklahoma!
WINNER – Santino Fontana, Tootsie
Steven Skybell, Fiddler on the Roof (in Yiddish)

Outstanding Actor in a Play
WINNER – Bryan Cranston, Network
McKinley Belcher III, The Light
Daveed Diggs, White Noise
Bill Irwin, On Beckett
Jeremy Pope, Choir Boy

Outstanding Actress in a Musical
WINNER – Stephanie J. Block, The Cher Show
Kelli O’Hara, Kiss Me, Kate
Beth Leavel, The Prom
Anika Noni Rose, Carmen Jones
Mare Winningham, Girl from the North Country

Outstanding Actress in a Play
Glenn Close, Mother of the Maid
Edie Falco, The True
Glenda Jackson, King Lear
Mandi Masden, The Light
WINNER – Elaine May, The Waverly Gallery

Outstanding Book Of A Musical
WINNER – Robert Horn, Tootsie
Conor McPherson, Girl from the North Country
Anais Mitchell, Hadestown
Jeff Whitty and James Magruder, Head Over Heels

Outstanding Choreographer
WINNER – Warren Carlyle, Kiss Me, Kate
Christopher Gattelli, The Cher Show
Denis Jones, Tootsie
David Neumann, Hadestown
Sergio Trujillo, Ain’t Too Proud: The Life and Times of the Temptations

Outstanding Costume Design
Rob Howell, The Ferryman
William Ivey Long, Beetlejuice
William Ivey Long, Tootsie
WINNER – Bob Mackie, The Cher Show
Arianne Phillips, Head Over Heels

Outstanding Director of a Musical
WINNER – Rachel Chavkin, Hadestown
Scott Ellis, Tootsie
Daniel Fish, Oklahoma!
Joel Grey, Fiddler on the Roof (in Yiddish)
Cara Reichel, The Hello Girls

Outstanding Director of a Play (The Lucille Lortel Award)
Rupert Goold, Ink
WINNER – Sam Mendes, The Ferryman
Jack O’Brien, All My Sons
Bartlett Sher, To Kill a Mockingbird
Logan Vaughn, The Light

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical
John Behlmann, Tootsie
WINNER – André De Shields, Hadestown
Reg Rogers, Tootsie
George Salazar, Be More Chill
Ephraim Sykes, Ain’t Too Proud: The Life and Times of the Temptations

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play
Bertie Carvel, Ink
John Clay III, Choir Boy
Hugh Dancy, Apologia
John Procaccino, Downstairs
WINNER – Benjamin Walker, All My Sons

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical
WINNER – Amber Gray, Hadestown
Leslie Kritzer, Beetlejuice
Bonnie Milligan, Head Over Heels
Sarah Stiles, Tootsie
Ali Stroker, Oklahoma!

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play
Joan Allen, The Waverly Gallery
Stephanie Berry, Sugar in Our Wounds
Fionnula Flanagan, The Ferryman
Harriett D. Foy, The House That Will Not Stand
WINNER – Celia Keenan-Bolger, To Kill a Mockingbird

Outstanding Lighting Design
Neil Austin, Ink
Stacey Derosier, Lewiston / Clarkston
WINNER – Bradley King, Hadestown
Jason Lyons, Sugar in Our Wounds
Peter Mumford, King Kong

Outstanding New Broadway Musical
Be More Chill
WINNER – Hadestown
Head Over Heels
The Prom

Outstanding New Broadway Play
WINNER – The Ferryman
To Kill a Mockingbird
What the Constitution Means to Me

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical
The Beast in the Jungle
Black Light
WINNER – Girl from the North Country
The Hello Girls

Midnight at the Never Get

Outstanding New Off-Broadway
The House That Will Not Stand
Lewiston / Clarkston
The Light
WINNER – Play White Noise

Outstanding New Score (The Marjorie Gunner Award)
Matthew Sklar and Chad Beguelin, The Prom
Joe Iconis, Be More Chill
Peter Mills, The Hello Girls
WINNER – Anaïs Mitchell, Hadestown
David Yazbek, Tootsie

Outstanding Orchestrations
Michael Chorney and Todd Sickafoose, Hadestown
Simon Hale, Girl from the North Country
Joseph Joubert, Carmen Jones
WINNER – Daniel Kluger, Oklahoma!
Harold Wheeler, Ain’t Too Proud: The Life and Times of the Temptations

Outstanding Projection Design
Alex Basco Koch, Be More Chill
WINNER – Peter England, King Kong
Peter Nigrini, Beetlejuice
Jeff Sugg, All My Sons
Tal Yarden, Network

Outstanding Revival of a Musical
Carmen Jones
WINNER – Fiddler on the Roof (in Yiddish)
Kiss Me, Kate

Smokey Joe’s Café

Outstanding Revival of a Play
WINNER – All My Sons
By the Way, Meet Vera Stark
Juno and the Paycock
Our Lady of 121st Street
The Waverly Gallery

Outstanding Scenic Design
Beowulf Boritt, Bernhardt/Hamlet
Bunny Christie, Ink
Rachel Hauck, Hadestown
Rob Howell, The Ferryman
WINNER – David Korins, Beetlejuice

Outstanding Solo Performance
WINNER – Mike Birbiglia, The New One
Maddie Corman, Accidentally Brave
Jake Gyllenhaal, A Life
Carey Mulligan, Girls & Boys
Renée Taylor, My Life on a Diet

Outstanding Sound Design
John Gromada, All My Sons
WINNER – Peter Hylenski, King Kong
Drew Levy, Oklahoma!
Eric Sleichim, Network
Nevin Steinberg and Jessica Paz, Hadestown

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *