2013 British Independent Film Awards

Best British Independent Film
WINNER – Metro Manila
The Selfish Giant
Starred Up
Le Week-End

Best Director
WINNER – Sean Ellis – Metro Manila
Jon S Baird – Filth
Clio Barnard – The Selfish Giant
Jonathan Glazer – Under the Skin
David Mackenzie – Starred Up

The Douglas Hickox Award
Given to a British director on their debut feature.
WINNER – Paul Wright – For Those in Peril
Charlie Cattrall – Titus
Tina Gharavi – I Am Nasrine
Jeremy Lovering – In Fear
Omid Nooshin – Last Passenger

Best Screenplay
WINNER – Steven Knight – Locke
Jonathan Asser – Starred Up
Clio Barnard – The Selfish Giant
Hanif Kureishi – Le Week-End
Jeff Pope, Steve Coogan – Philomena

Best Actress
WINNER – Lindsay Duncan – Le Week-End
Judi Dench – Philomena
Scarlett Johansson – Under the Skin
Felicity Jones – The Invisible Woman
Saoirse Ronan – How I Live Now

Best Supporting Actress
WINNER – Imogen Poots – The Look Of Love
Siobhan Finneran – The Selfish Giant
Shirley Henderson – Filth
Kristin Scott Thomas – The Invisible Woman
Mia Wasikowska – The Double

Best Actor
WINNER – James McAvoy – Filth
Jim Broadbent – Le Week-end
Steve Coogan – Philomena
Tom Hardy – Locke
Jack O’Connell – Starred Up

Best Supporting Actor
WINNER – Ben Mendelsohn – Starred Up
John Arcilla – Metro Manila
Rupert Friend – Starred Up
Jeff Goldblum – Le Week-end
Eddie Marsan – Filth

Most Promising Newcomer
WINNER – Chloe Pirrie – Shell
Harley Bird – How I Live Now
Conner Chapman / Shaun Thomas – The Selfish Giant
Caity Lotz – The Machine
Jake Macapagal – Metro Manila

Best Technical Achievement
WINNER – Amy Hubbard – The Selfish Giant (Casting)
Shaheen Baig – Starred Up (Casting)
Johnnie Burn – Under the Skin (Sound Design)
Mica Levi – Under the Skin (Music)
Justine Wright – Locke (Editing)

Best Documentary
WINNER – Pussy Riot: A Punk Prayer
The Great Hip Hop Hoax
The Moo Man
The Spirit of ’45
The Stone Roses: Made of Stone

Best Achievement in Production
WINNER – Metro Manila
A Field in England
The Selfish Giant
Starred Up

Best Short Film
Dr Easy
Dylan’s Room

The Raindance Award
WINNER – The Machine
Everyone’s Going to Die
The Patrol
Sleeping Dogs

Best Foreign Independent Film
WINNER – Blue is the Warmest Colour
The Great Beauty
Blue Jasmine
Frances Ha

The Richard Harris Award
Julie Walters

The Variety Award
Paul Greengrass

The Special Jury Prize
Sixteen Films & Friends (AKA Team Loach)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *