The 2012 London Evening Standard Theatre Awards

Best Play
Constellations by Nick Payne (Royal Court Upstairs)
Love and Information by Caryl Churchill 
(Royal Court Downstairs)
This House by James Graham (National’s Cottesloe)

Best Director
Nicholas Hytner for Timon of Athens (National’s Olivier)
Carrie Cracknell 
for A Doll’s House (Young Vic)
James Macdonald for Love and Information (Royal Court Downstairs)
Ian Rickson for Hamlet (Young Vic)

Best Actor
Simon Russell Beale, Collaborators (National’s Cottesloe and Olivier)
Charles Edwards
The King’s Speech (Wyndham’s) and This House (National’s Cottesloe)
Adrian LesterRed Velvet (Tricycle Theatre)
Luke TreadawayThe Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time (National Cottesloe)

Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress
Hattie Morahan, A Doll’s House (Young Vic)
Eileen Atkins, All That Fall (Jermyn Street)
Cate Blanchett, Big and Small (Sydney Theatre Company for Barbican)
Laurie Metcalf, Long Day’s Journey Into Night (Apollo)

Ned Sherrin Award for Best Musical
Sweeney Todd (Chichester Festival and Adelphi)
Singin’ In the Rain (Chichester Festival and Palace Theatre)
Swallows and Amazons (A Bristol Old Vic production, presented by the National Theatre and The Children’s Touring Partnership at the Vaudeville Theatre)

Best Design
Soutra Gilmour, Inadmissible Evidence (Donmar Warehouse) and Antigone (National’s Olivier)
Miriam BuetherWild Swans (A Young Vic/American Repertory Theatre/Actors Touring Company co-production)
Ian MacNeil, A Doll’s House (Young Vic)

Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright
Lolita Chakrabarti, Red Velvet (Tricycle)
John HodgeCollaborators (National’s Cottesloe)
Tom WellsThe Kitchen Sink (Bush)

Milton Shulman Award for Outstanding Newcomer
Matthew Tennyson, Making Noise Quietly (Donmar Warehouse)
Denise GoughOur New Girl (Bush) and Desire Under the Elms (Lyric Hammersmith)
Abby Rakic-PlattVera Vera Vera (Royal Court Upstairs and Theatre Local Peckham)

Beyond Theatre Award
Danny Boyle and his creative team, for the Opening Ceremony of the London 2012 Olympics

Lebedev Special Award
Nicholas Hytner, for his dynamic directorship of the National Theatre

Editor’s Award
David Hare, for his contribution to theatre

Burberry Award for Emerging Director
Simon Godwin

Moscow Art Theatre’s Golden Seagull Award
Judi Dench, for her contribution to world theatre

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *