The 2011 London Evening Standard Theatre Awards

Best Play
The Heretic by Richard Bean (Royal Court)
One Man, Two Guvnors by Richard Bean (National’s Lyttelton)
Becky Shaw
 by Gina Gionfriddo (Almeida)
Tribes by Nina Raine (Royal Court)

Best Director
Mike Leigh for Grief (National’s Cottesloe)
Rob Ashford 
for Anna Christie (Donmar)
Dominic Cooke for Chicken Soup with Barley (Royal Court)
Edward Hall for Richard III & The Comedy of Errors (Propeller at Hampstead)

Best Actor
Benedict Cumberbatch, Frankenstein (National’s Olivier)
Jonny Lee Miller, Frankenstein (National’s Olivier)
Bertie Carvel
Matilda the Musical (RSC Stratford & Cambridge Theatre)
Charles EdwardsMuch Ado About Nothing (Shakespeare’s Globe)

Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress
Sheridan Smith, Flare Path (Theatre Royal Haymarket)
Samantha Spiro
Chicken Soup with Barley (Royal Court)
Kristin Scott ThomasBetrayal (Comedy)

Ned Sherrin Award for Best Musical
Matilda the Musical, RSC Stratford & Cambridge Theatre
Betty Blue Eyes
, Novello Theatre
London Road, National’s Cottesloe

Best Design
Adam Cork, sound designer of Anna Christie & King Lear (Donmar)
Bunny Christie
Men Should Weep (National’s Lyttelton)
Lizzie ClachanWastwater (Royal Court)
Mark TildesleyFrankenstein (National’s Olivier)

Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright
Penelope Skinner, The Village Bike (Royal Court)
EV Crowe
Kin (Royal Court)
Vivienne FranzmannMogadishu (Lyric Hammersmith)

Milton Shulman Award for Outstanding Newcomer
Kyle Soller for his performances in The Glass Menagerie (Young Vic) & The Government Inspector (Young Vic) & The Faith Machine (Royal Court)
Phoebe Fox
 for her performances in As You Like It (Rose Kingston) & The Acid Test (Royal Court) & There Is A War (National’s Paintframe)
Malachi Kirby for his performance in Mogadishu (Lyric, Hammersmith)
David Wilson Barnes for his performance in Becky Shaw (Almeida)

Editor’s Award
Michael Grandage for making the Donmar Warehouse a star

Beyond Theatre Award
Pet Shop Boys and Javier de Frutos for The Most Incredible Thing (Sadler’s Wells)

Lebedev Special Award
Kristin Scott Thomas for her contribution to theatre

Moscow Art Theatre’s Golden Seagull
Tom Stoppard for his contribution to Russian theatre and the international stage

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *