Winners of 2009 Lucille Lortel Awards

Outstanding Play
Animals Out of Paper; Written by Rajiv Joseph; Produced by Second Stage Theatre
Becky Shaw; Written by Gina Gionfriddo; Produced by Second Stage Theatre  
WINNER – Ruined; Written by Lynn Nottage; Produced by Manhattan Theatre Club and Goodman Theatre 
The Good Negro; Written by Tracey Scott Wilson; Produced by The Public Theater in association with Dallas Theater Center
The Sound and the Fury (April Seventh, 1928); Text by William Faulkner, Created by Elevator Repair Service; Produced by New York Theatre Workshop and Elevator Repair Service   

Outstanding Musical
WINNER – Fela! A New Musical; Book by Jim Lewis and Bill T. Jones, Music and Lyrics by Fela Anikulapo Kuti, Add’l Music by Aaron Johnson and Jordan McLean, Add’l Lyrics by Jim Lewis; Produced by Ruth and Stephen Hendel and Roy Gabay 
My Vaudeville Man!; Book by Jeff Hochhauser, Music by Bob Johnston, Lyrics by Bob Johnston and Jeff Hochhauser; Produced by The York Theatre Company and Melanie Herman  
Road Show; Music and Lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, Book by John Weidman; Produced by The Public Theater  
Saved; Music and Lyrics by Michael Friedman, Book and Lyrics by John Dempsey and Rinne Groff; Produced by Playwrights Horizons in association with Elephant Eye Theatrical  
This Beautiful City; Composer and Lyricist Michael Friedman, Librettist Steve Cosson and Jim Lewis, Created by The Civilians; Produced by Vineyard Theatre
Outstanding Revival
Enter Laughing, The Musical; Book by Joseph Stein, Music and Lyrics by Stan Daniels, Based on the play Enter Laughing by Joseph Stein, from the novel by Carl Reiner; Produced by The York Theatre Company
Othello; Written by William Shakespeare; Produced by Theatre for a New Audience
WINNER – Our Town; Written by Thornton Wilder; Produced by Scott Morfee, Jean Doumanian, Tom Wirtshafter, Ted Snowdon, Eagle Productions, Dena Hammerstein/Pam Pariseau, The Weinstein Company, Burnt Umber Productions, Producers
The Cripple of Inishmaan; Written by Martin McDonagh; Produced by Atlantic Theater Company and Druid Theatre Company
The Glass Cage; Written by J.B. Priestley; Produced by Mint Theater Company

Outstanding Solo Show
WINNER – Humor Abuse; Created by Lorenzo Pisoni and Erica Schmidt, Performed by Lorenzo Pisoni; Produced by Manhattan Theatre Club

Sleepwalk With Me; Written and Performed by Mike Birbiglia; Produced by Eli Gonda, Ryan Scott Warren, Marc Turtletaub, Peter Saraf, and Nathan Lane

Outstanding Director 
Arin Arbus, Othello  
WINNER – David Cromer, Our Town 
Garry Hynes, The Cripple of Inishmaan 
Kate Whoriskey, Ruined  
Robert Woodruff, Chair   

Outstanding Choreographer
Martha Clarke, Garden of Earthly Delights 
WINNER – Bill T. Jones, Fela! A New Musical  
Janet Miller, The Marvelous Wonderettes  
Lynne Taylor-Corbett and Shonn Wiley, My Vaudeville Man!  
Sergio Trujillo, Saved

Outstanding Lead Actor 
Ned Eisenberg,Othello 
Josh Grisetti, Enter Laughing, The Musical
Brian d’Arcy James, Port Authority 
Sahr Ngaujah, Fela! A New Musical  
WINNER – John Douglas Thompson, Othello   

Outstanding Lead Actress 
Ellen Burstyn, The Little Flower of East Orange  
WINNER – Saidah Arrika Ekulona, Ruined 
Carmen M. Herlihy, crooked  
Kellie Overbey, The Savannah Disputation 
Annie Parisse, Becky Shaw   

Outstanding Featured Actor
Utkarsh Ambudkar, Animals Out of Paper  
Francois Battiste, The Good Negro  
John McMartin, Saturn Returns 
WINNER – Aaron Monaghan, The Cripple of Inishmaan  
Thomas Sadoski, Becky Shaw   

Outstanding Featured Actress
Annika Boras, Chair 
WINNER – Kerry Condon, The Cripple of Inishmaan  
Lisa Emery, Distracted 
Mamie Gummer, Uncle Vanya 
Juliet Rylance, Othello   

Outstanding Scenic Design 
Beowulf Boritt, Animals Out of Paper  
Marina Draghici, Fela! A New Musical 
WINNER – Roger Hanna, The Glass Cage  
James Schuette, Wig Out!  
David Zinn, Chair  

Outstanding Costume Design 
WINNER – Marina Draghici, Fela! A New Musical  
Ann Hould-Ward, Road Show  
Toni-Leslie James, Wig Out!  
Karen Perry,The First Breeze of Summer 
Theresa Squire, Rafta, Rafta…   

Outstanding Lighting Design 
WINNER – Christopher Akerlind, Garden of Earthly Delights  
Mark Barton, Chair 
Lap Chi Chu, The Good Negro  
Marcus Doshi, Othello  
Jason Lyons, Mourning Becomes Electra   

Outstanding Sound Design 
Quentin Chiappetta, Irena’s Vow 
WINNER – John Gromada, Shipwrecked! An Entertainment 
Robert Kaplowitz, Wig Out!  
Jane Shaw, The Widowing of Mrs. Holroyd
Matt Tierney, The Sound and the Fury (April Seventh, 1928)     

Outstanding Body of Work
The Lark Play Development Center

Edith Oliver Award for Sustained Excellence
Ira Weitzman

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *